Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Research Guide for Graduate Students in Peace and Conflict Studies Program: International/National Newspaper & Country/Region Information

Country/Region Information

Africa-Wide Information [Rutgers Restricted] 

Africa-Wide Information incorporates a variety of smaller databases and covers African and South African studies using sources from Africa, Europe and the United States. The subject areas covered include politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism, and many more. 

Archive of European Integration (AEI)

The Archive of European Integration (AEI) is an electronic repository and archive for research materials on the topic of European integration and unification. The AEI collects two types of materials: certain types of independently-produced research materials and official European Community/European Union documents

Asia-Studies Full-Text Online [Rutgers Restricted] 

Asia-Studies Full-Text Online is a portal that provides access to reports, working paper series, and journals from Asia's most prestigious research institutions, covering business, economic, government, political, and social issues related to the nations of Asia-Pacific. Examples of specific subject coverage include finance, trade, environment, human resources development, best practices in government, fisheries, tourism, education and women's studies to name a few. Statistical reports on Asian countries are also available. 

Bibliography of Asian Studies [Rutgers Restricted] 

The Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) is the major multi-disciplinary index for the study of East, Southeast, and South Asia. It contains citations to Western language works published worldwide on all subjects pertaining to this vast region, especially in the humanities and the social sciences (including but not limited to art, history, language, literature, religion, anthropology, sociology, political science, and economics). 

Country Profiles

Facts on International Relations and Security Trends (FIRST)

The FIRST system offers researchers, politicians and the media an authoritative and structured factual reference system on international relations and security trends. It contains documented information in areas such as:

  • conflicts, arms transfers and military expenditure
  • hard facts on states and international organizations
  • economic and social statistics
  • chronologies

Hispanic-American Periodicals Index [Rutgers Restricted] 

The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social sciences and humanities journals published in the United States and Latin America in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The journals indexed include information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States, focusing on analyses of current political, cultural, economic, and social issues.

International and National Newspaper

  • New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) [Rutgers Restricted]

    ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the New York Times provides the full image of articles published in the New York Times from its first issue in 1851. It is searchable by keyword, author, article title, and first paragraph (abstract). You can browse issues by clicking Publications at the top of the screen. It includes illustrations and advertisements. The title changed from the New York Daily Times to the New York Times in 1857.

    For more recent coverage use Factiva which provides fulltext coverage from June 1, 1980, but does not include illustrations and advertisements.

  • The Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) [Rutgers Restricted]
     
    ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal provides PDF images of essentially all the content published in The Wall Street Journal from its first issue in 1889 through 1995. It is searchable by keyword, author, article title, and first paragraph (abstract). It includes editorials, illustrations and advertisements, anything that appeared in the original edition. You can browse issues by clicking Publications at the top of the screen.
    For more recent coverage use Factiva which provides fulltext coverage from 1979, but does not include illustrations and advertisements.
     
  • Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) [Rutgers Restricted]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post provides PDF images of essentially all the content published in the Washington Post from its first issue in 1877 through 1993. It is searchable by keyword, author, article title, and first paragraph (abstract). It includes editorials, cartoons, illustrations and advertisements, anything that appeared in the original edition. You can browse individual issues by clicking Publications at the top of the screen.

For more recent coverage use Factiva which provides fulltext coverage from 1984, but does not include illustrations and advertisements.

  • Access World News [Rutgers Restricted]
    Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts. Covers local, regional, and world issues, politics, government policies, sports, industries, cultural activities, schools, and the people and events in the community.
     
  • Factiva [Rutgers Restricted]
    Factiva is a vast archive of the world's most important publications, reports and news, focusing on business.
 
  • Ethnic NewsWatch [Rutgers Restricted]
    Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.