Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Research Guide for Graduate Students in Peace and Conflict Studies Program: Find Books

Reference Books

The Oxford international encyclopedia of peace / Nigel Young, editor in chief 
[Dana Library Reference Stacks:  JZ5533.O95 2010 v.1-4]

Conflict between India and Pakistan : an encyclopedia / Peter Lyon
[Dana Library Reference Stacks: DS450.P18L86 2008]

Encyclopedia of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict / edited by Cheryl A. Rubenberg 
[Dana Library Reference Stacks: DS119.7.E568 2010 v.1-3]

Encyclopedia of Political Communication [Rutgers Restricted] 
Povides interdisciplinary coverage of "the major theoretical approaches to the field, including direct and limited effects theories, agenda-setting theories, sociological theories, framing and priming theories, and other past and present conceptualizations." Electronic version of the print resource.

Encyclopedia of Political Theory [Rutgers Restricted] 
"Examines the ideas of the major political theorists from before Plato to our own times: the main schools of political thought; the concepts and issues that have captured the imagination and attention of political theorists; and some of the main institutions and practices inspired by political thought."

Encyclopedia of Power [Rutgers Restricted] 
"With comprehensive coverage of the use of power in the social sciences, the encyclopedia serves as a one-stop point of reference for the diverse and complex ways in which power has been used. It also provides a reference for debates central to the issues of power in different contexts and for related topics, showing how these disparate topics are related to power."

Encyclopedia of United States National Security [Rutgers Restricted] 
"In addition to presenting historical facts and analyses of weapons systems, treaties, and international conflicts, it is designed to also provide a comprehensive introduction to some of the more complicated and abstract questions concerning world politics and national security."

Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace & Conflict [Rutgers Restricted] 
"Provides information about antagonism and reconciliation in all contexts of public and personal life. Covers topics such as arms control, peace movements, child abuse, folklore, terrorism and political assassinations."

Government - Politics - and Protest: Essential Primary Sources [Rutgers Restricted] 
Covers the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries with "full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context."

Green Politics: An A-to-Z Guide [Rutgers Restricted] 
"This collection of entries comprises some of the essential concepts, actors, institutions, and processes in green politics today. It draws on several academic arenas from economics and political science to political ecology and sociology, and focuses on a range of green issues from industrial pollution to indigenous rights." Part of the Green Society: Toward a Sustainable Future series.

History in Dispute [Rutgers Restricted] 
"Addresses heavily debated questions by offering different critical perspectives on major historical events, drawn from all time periods and from all parts of the globe."

Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources [Rutgers Restricted] 
Covers the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries with "full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context."

International Encyclopedia of Political Science [Rutgers Restricted] 
"Aims to give a comprehensive picture of all aspects of political life, recognizing the theoretical and cultural pluralism of the approaches and including findings from all parts of the world. The eight volumes of the encyclopedia cover every field of politics, from political theory and methodology to political sociology, comparative politics, public policies, and international relations."

 

 

Using EZ-Borrow

Interlibrary Loan Services

Interlibrary loan services expand the resources available to the Rutgers community beyond those at the university. The Rutgers University Libraries maintain memberships in consortia and have special cooperative arrangements with libraries and other organizations to provide interlibrary loan services for Rutgers faculty, students, and staff. 

Materials available on loan from other institutions may include books, newspapers, documents, periodical articles, dissertations, and similar materials that are needed locally for academic purposes. Electronic documents and photocopies received from other institutions are converted to PDF files and delivered electronically to user's desktops.

Interlibrary loan request forms are available under DELIVERY AND INTERLIBRARY LOAN on the Libraries' website. or by clicking on the [ILL] button in the Library Catalog. On the Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Services page, login with your NetID and password.

Lear more about Interlibrary Loan Services here.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.