Skip to main content
Books on MLA
Call Number: LB2369.G53 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbookprovided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
A Pocket Style Manual, 2016 MLA Update Edition
Call Number: PE1408.H26 2016
Publication Date: 2016-07-05
THIS TITLE HAS BEEN UPDATED TO REFLECT THE 2016 MLA UPDATES! Our editorial team has updated this text based on content from The MLA Handbook, 8th Edition. Browse our catalog or contact your representative for a full listing of updated titles and packages, or to request a custom ISBN.Your students need clear, complete answers to their questions about research, writing, and grammar--and they often need them at a moment's notice. As their teacher, you are their greatest resource, but you can't be available 24/7. For help with work in class and at home and especially for questions at odd hours, students can turn to A Pocket Style Manual. The thoughtfully revised seventh edition makes it even easier for students to effectively and independently address their writing and research challenges. With 325 documentation models in four styles and coverage of drafting thesis statements, writing correctly and effectively, finding and evaluating sources, and writing research papers, A Pocket Style Manual supports writers across the disciplines. Our newest set of online materials, LaunchPad Solo, provides all the key tools and course-specific content that you need to teach your class. The LaunchPad Solo for A Pocket Style Manual includes exercises, sample student writing, and LearningCurve game-like adaptive quizzing. To package LaunchPad Solo free with A Pocket Style Manual, use ISBN 978-1-319-01282-3.
When To Use MLA
One of the most-used bibliographic styles for humanities is that of the Modern Language Association (MLA). MLA is the style used in Rutgers writing courses and the default style for Rutgers undergraduates. Your professor or subject area might require a different format.
MLA Style Online
MLA Style Center
The official website of the Modern language Association (MLA) style. It provides basic information on citations and even provides a quick guide.
Frequently Asked Questions about the MLA Style Manual
This site answer frequently asked questions about the MLA 8th edition.
MLA Practive Template
This PDF provides a template to help wit constructing a citation in MLA format.
Purdue OWL MLA Style Guide
This website run by Purdue University is one of the best resources for citation help. It provides easy-to-follow examples on how to cite any type of information from a book to a tweet.
Writing Centers at Rutgers
All Rutgers campuses have a writing center where you can go for more help on writing a research paper. Below are the links to the centers on the Rutgers Campuses.