Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Harvest of Empire. Onyx Films, 2012. "This documentary exposes the direct connection between the long history of U.S. intervention in Latin America and the immigration crisis we face today. " Rutgers-restricted Access
Undocumented. Directed by Marco Williams. Alexandria, VA., Filmakers Library, 2013. Rutgers-restricted Access
Lost in Detention. PBS Distribution, 2011. DVD. Available?
Sin Pais/Without Country. DVD. Harriman, NY, New Day Films, 2010. Explores one family's experience as they are separated by deportation. Available?
- Migration Policy Institute
- "The Migration Policy Institute is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide. MPI provides analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at local, national, and international levels." Reports, fact sheets, and policy briefs on a variety of topics including, border security (including smuggling and trafficking); education; employment; illegal immigration and interior enforcement; immigrant integration; immigrant profiles and demographics; policy, etc.
- UCLA Center for International Migration
- Interdisciplinary institute. Nice collection of online Working Papers.
Getting Started: Basic Reference Works
- Immigration and Asylum: From 1900 to the Present
- Matthew J. Gibney and Randall Hansen, editors. Santa Barbara, Calif., ABC-CLIO, 2005.
Almost 200 signed entries on diasporas, countries (sending & receiving), issues, themes, laws, and processes. International in scope, but with a strong emphasis on the U.S. Includes an extensive compilation of documents relating to immigration and asylum. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Encyclopedia of American Immigration.
- Carl L. Bankston III. Pasadena, CA., Salem Press, 2010. 3 volumes.
- 553 alphabetically arranged entries on a wide array of topics relating to immigration in the U.S. Includes entries on 65 individual ethnic and immigrant groups, as well as entries on the immigration history of each state in the U.S. Each entry is followed by a selective annotated bibliography. Rutgers-restricted Access
- New Americans: A Guide to Immigration Since 1965
- Edited by Mary C. Waters and Reed Ueda. Cambridge, Mass., Harvard Universtiy Press, 2007.
Account of changes in American demographics since the major changes in immigation law after 1965, including the new waves of immigrants from non-European countries. Chapters on immigration law and policy, refugees, unauthorized migrants, racial and ethnic identity, assimilation, nationalization, economy, politics, religion, education, family relations, and immigration from specific countries and areas. Available?
- Illegal Immigration: A Reference Handbook
- Michael C. LeMay. Santa Barbara, Calif., ABC-CLIO, 2007.
History, issues, laws, legislation, and proposed solutions to unauthorized immigration. Emphasis on 1965 to the present. Includes statistical tables, charts, information on key figures, and an extensive annotated bibliography. Rutgers-restrocted Access
, Criminal Justice
, History - Global & Eurasian
, History - North America
, Journalism & Media Studies
, Latin American & Caribbean Studies
, Literatures in English
, New Jerseyana
, Political Science
, Social Work
, Spanish & Portuguese Studies
, Women's & Gender Studies