Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Institute of Jazz Studies: Databases, Streaming Media, and Online Reference from Rutgers Libraries

Databases, Streaming Media, and Online Reference from Rutgers Libraries


Please note that the following resources are limited to use by Rutgers users with a NetID or on campus at a public computer terminal.

Music and Jazz Related Article and Reference Databases

RILM: Abstracts of Music Literature: Searches over 3,700 journals in 140 lanuages, providing abstracts from articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations,iconographies, critical commentaries, ethnographic recordings and videos, reviews, and more.  This database of abstracts should be included in your research strategy, potentially as your starting point .  Includes links to full-text articles when available.

Music Index Online: Searches over 850 music periodicals by author, title, subject, and within abstracts, when available.   The index includes articles, book reviews, obituaries, news stories, and trade publication articles.  Like RILM, highly recommended as a starting point for your research.  Includes links to full-text articles when available.

Oxford Music Online:  The most comprehensive online music reference source offered by Rutgers University Libraries, including articles from Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and the Encylopedia of Popular Music.  Useful when you need basic or preliminary information on your research topic.  Bibliographies at the end of each article offer additional citations.

RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals.  International focus.  Useful for finding jazz article sources through 1950. Includes links to full-text articles when available.

JSTOR: Search over 2,000 scholarly journals and digitized books across many disciplines.  Includes nearly 800 titles related to music including American Music, Popular Music, Black Music Research Journal, and more.  Includes links to full-text articles and books.

Project MUSE: Search full-text of books and articles from over 320 scholarly journals, with some duplication of titles also in JSTOR.  Includes links to full-text articles and books.

Humanities Index Retrospective: Search citations for publications between 1907 and 1984 across many disciplines, including some specialized and lesser-known titles.  Includes links to full-text articles when available.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: Includes extensive reference articles on jazz and related vernacular and popular music in the United States and abroad.

History Focused Databases and Sources

America: History and Life: Search abstracts and citations for journal articles, reviews, and dissertations that focus on United States and Canadian history from over 1700 journal titles.  Includes links to full-text articles when available.

Historical Abstracts: Searchable online bibliography for material on the history of the world from 1450 to the present. It covers all countries and regions, excluding the United States and Canada (for those countries, see America: History and Life).  Includes links to full-text articles when available.

Alternative Press Index: Searchable online bibliography of more than 300 international journals, magazines, and newspapers offering an alternative, radical, or left perspective. Includes links to full-text articles when available.

Dissertations and Theses: Searchable database of dissertations and theses from the United States and abroad, including those accepted as recently as last semester.  Includes full text.  Many of the foreign dissertations are available from the Center for Research Libraries.  Especially useful for finding citations on your topic. 

Rutgers Electronic Theses and Dissertations is another great source for jazz research, as it includes full-text electronic theses by Rutgers graduates from the Masters in Jazz History and Research program and the Master of Music in Jazz Studies program.

Periodicals Archive Online: Provides electronic access to the backfiles of historically significant periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, incluyding over 700 journals. Some full-text available.

Academic Search Premier: Multi-disciplinary database with links to full-text articles when available.

Hathi Trust Digital Library: The HathiTrust Digital Library includes millions of books, government publications, dissertations, journals, and other published and unpublished materials. Titles published prior to 1923 and those that are open access or Creative Commons-licensed are available full-text. Other materials include limited-access searching with citations.

Cambridge Histories Online: Good source for historic context of jazz with full text searching of all (over 250 total) Cambridge history volumes. Subjects range widely across the humanities.  Each volume includes authoritative narrative accounts by specialists and extensive bibliographies and is available electronically in full text.

Primary Sources

ArchiveGrid: Searches catalogs at over 2,500 libraries, museums, and archives for basic information about available archival collections, including finding aids when available.  Includes links to some digitized materials.  Does not include any Institute of Jazz Studies collections.  

Black Thought and Culture: Search the full text of around 100,000 pages of non-fiction writing by leading figures in African American life and culture, including Frederick Douglas, W.E.B. Du Bois, Ida Wells, A. Phillip Randolph, Martin Luther King, Jr., Jesse Jackson and hundreds of others.  Provides good primary contextual sources for jazz history.  Types of material include articles and essays, monographs, speeches, interviews, pamphlets and correspondence.  Approximately twenty percent is previously unpublished, including transcripts from the Columbia University Oral History Project.  Also available online for the first time is the complete run of the Black Panther newspaper, 1966 through 1980.

Index to Printed Music: Search for published versions of musical works by title, composer, and genre.  Limited jazz content, but slightly better for popular song and precursors to jazz such as ragtime.

Proquest Historical Newspapers:  This combined database allows you to search across the four ProQuest historical newspapers that the Libraries subscribe to: the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the New York Times (1851- three years prior to the current year), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1995), and the Washington Post (1877-1993). You can search by date, fulltext, headline (title), first paragraph (abstract) and more. It includes advertisements and illustrations.

American Periodicals Series Online provides the full text of articles, advertisements, illustrations, editiorial cartoons, obituaries, letters to the editor, etc., from more than 1,100 American magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1940. It includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Articles are available as digitized images and therefore preserve the original typography, graphics, and page layout. The database allows searching by author, title, article type, publication title, date, and keywords in the full-text. 

Everyday Life of Women in America, c.1800-1920, provides access to primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It includes fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides focused on 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.  Could be useful for contextualizing the development and cultural reception of early jazz.

Early American Newspapers is a fulltext database of over 1,500 newspapers published between 1741 and 1922, making it useful for contextualizing the development of early jazz. It includes the entire text of each issue, including advertisements, classified advertisements, editorials, letters to the editor, poetry, fiction and obituaries. 

Sound and Video Recordings (including oral histories)

Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM): Provides access to streaming recordings from New World Records, Composers Recordings Inc., Albany, innova, Cedille, XI, Pogus, Deep Listening and Mutable Music record labels.  Includes some jazz content.

Music Online: Includes all Alexander Street Press streaming resources, including Smithsonian Global Sound, with jazz recordings from the Smithsonian’s catalog of recordings.  Great for early jazz and roots of the music.

Naxos Music Library: Streaming sound recordings from the Naxos catalog, including some jazz.

Academic Video Online Premium: Includes some films with jazz content.

Oral History Online: Features around 100 jazz-related interviews, including some from the Smithsonians' Jazz Oral History Project. In some cases the database provides full-text of the oral history transcripts or video or audio files. In other cases, only a description of the collection or the oral history interview is provided. Extensive indexing allows you to search by place of birth, race, gender, occupation, historical event or a variety of other options.

American History in Video features commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Sources include PBS, WGBH Boston, The History Channel, and the National Archives.  All of the films include full-text transcripts.  Good for documentaries on jazz.

 

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.