Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Institute of Jazz Studies: Periodicals

Academic Journals

The Institute of Jazz Studies holds the largest collection of jazz periodical literature in the world.  Most of the journal titles are searchable in the Rutgers University Library catalog, and many of the articles in these publications have been indexed and are searchable in the databases described on the Web tab of this guide.  Articles are often accessible electronically as well as in print.  Below is a description of some of the most relevant journal titles with current research in jazz. 

[Note: clicking on the links below will redirect you either to the journal website or to the Rutgers University Library catalog record with a link for Rutgers users to access the electronic version.]

The Journal of Jazz Studies, an open-access online journal from the Institute of Jazz Studies, was launched in 2011, replacing the Annual Review of Jazz Studies, print copies of which are available at the Institute.

Jazz Perspectives is available to Rutgers users anywhere with a Net ID and public users at computer terminals on a Rutgers campus. The IJS holds print copies of Jazz Perspectives through 2010 and of the Jazz Research Journal and its predecessor, The Source through 2013.  Issues from 1995 through 2010 of the International Jazz Archives Journal (published by the University of Pittsburgh Sonny Rollins International Jazz Archives) are also available to read in-person at the IJS. Current Research in Jazz is an open-access online journal.

Critical Studies in Improvisation is an open-access online journal that focuses broadly on improvised music, including some articles about jazz.  Other peer-reviewed journals that partially focus on jazz include American Music, the Journal of the Society of American Music, the Black Music Research Journal, the ARSC Journal (Association for Recorded Sound Collections), and Popular Music and Society.

Magazines and Periodicals

For lists of more publications, especially non-U.S., see the List of Jazz Magazines and Periodicals Worldwide maintained by Jazz-Institut Darmstadt.

Major Jazz-related magazines and periodicals that have ceased publication, such as The Black Perspective in Music, Jazz Monthly, the Jazz Education Journal, Jazz Review, MetronomeThe Mississippi Rag, Signal to Noise, and Record Research, are available to read in-person at the IJS.

Many of the following magazines and periodicals are also available at the Institute.

Trade Publications, Newsletters, and Magazines

In addition to the journals and magazines that are searchable in the Rutgers University Library catalog, the IJS holds a large collection of rare and sometimes uniqe jazz periodical literature that is only partially cataloged and available on site.  Below is a list of the titles in this collection.   Please contact the IJS for more information about a specific issue or if you don't see the title you're looking for, as the Institute also has a sizeable collection of uncataloged newsletters.  Access to some of these issues is restricted due to their fragile physical condition.

  • 5/4 Magazine
  • 78 RPM
  • Abundant Sounds
  • Abundant Sounds-Jazz Weekly
  • Accordion Times and Harmonica News
  • Ad-Lib
  • Afim
  • After Beat
  • Airwaves
  • Akateeminen Jazz Kerho
  • All About Jazz-Bay Area
  • All About Jazz-California
  • All About Jazz-Los Angeles
  • All About Jazz-New York
  • All Blues To-Do's
  • All-American Band Leaders
  • Allegro
  • Allegro Jazz Quarterly
  • Allen's Poop Sheet
  • American Discophile
  • American Folk Music Occational
  • American Harmonica
  • American Jazz
  • American Jazz Monthly
  • American Jazz Review
  • American Music Lover
  • American Rag
  • American Record Guide
  • American Recorder
  • Amici del Disco
  • And All That Jazz
  • Antique Phonograph Monthly
  • Aria Jazz
  • Arpege
  • Arts Alive
  • Arts Ink
  • ASCAP in Action: Playback
  • ASCAP Today
  • Atlanta Jazz Review
  • Audience
  • Audiophile Voice
  • Auditorio
  • Australian Jazz & Blues
  • Australian Music Maker
  • Avant Magazine
  • L'Actualite Musicale
  • Berlin-Jazz
  • Big City Blues
  • Billboard
  • Bird
  • Black Fire
  • Black Music
  • Black Music & Jazz Review
  • Black Nation
  • Bleu Banane
  • Blue Rhythm
  • Blue Rhythm (Germany)
  • Blue Suede News
  • Blues & Rhythm: The Gospel Truth
  • Blues & Soul
  • Blues Access
  • Blues Beat
  • Blues Connection
  • Blues et Jazz
  • Blues Festival
  • Blues Forum (Germany)
  • Blues Foundation
  • Blues Life Journal  
  • Blues News (Iowa)
  • Blues Notes
  • Blues Notes (France)
  • Blues Revue
  • Blues Revue Quarterly
  • Blues Special (Spanish)
  • Blues To-Do's
  • Blues Unlimited
  • Blues Unlimited (Collector's Classics)
  • Blues Views
  • Blues World
  • Blues: Bimestriel International Blues & Jazz
  • BlueSpeak
  • BluesWire
  • BM-Black Music & Jazz Review
  • BMI
  • Boletin Del Hot Club De Buenos Aires
  • Bop
  • Boss
  • Boston After Dark Arts & Entertainment
  • Brant Inn News
  • Brass Group
  • Brass Player
  • Bright Moments
  • British Institute of Jazz Studies Newsletter
  • Buffalo Jazz Report
  • Bulletin De L'International Jazz Club
  • Bulletin Du "Hot Club Lyonnais"
  • Bulletin Du Bureau D'Ethnologie (Haiti)
  • Bulletin Du Hot Club de France
  • Bulletin of the Hot Club of Canada
  • Bulletin of the New York State Public Library
  • Bulletin of the Sociological Society for Students of Hot Jazz Music
  • Bureau D'Ethnologie (Haiti)
  • Butt Rag
  • Das Berliner Jazz-Programm (Berlin, Germany)
  • Il Blues (Italy)
  • The Baton
  • The Beat
  • The Billboard-Supplement
  • The New Baton
  • Cobweb Corner: Record Finder
  • Collecta
  • Collector (Italy)
  • Collectors Items
  • Collegiate Swing
  • Combo
  • Conjonction
  • Contemporary
  • Contemporary Keyboard
  • Contemporary Music America Magazine
  • Corrective News Distribution
  • Cotton 7 All
  • Cover
  • Creative Arts Review
  • Crescendo International
  • Crescendo Magazine
  • Crosby Collector
  • Cups
  • Current
  • Dallas Jazz News
  • Dance & Music Magazine (Japan)
  • Dance Band Album
  • Dance Magazine
  • Dance Perspectives
  • Davar Revista Literaria (Buenors Aires, Argentina)
  • Day In Day Out
  • Detour
  • Detroit Jazz
  • Dick Haymes Society
  • Dig It
  • Digital Audio
  • Disc & That
  • Disc Collector
  • Disc Mart
  • Disc The Record Magazine
  • Disc: The Top Record & Musical Weekly
  • Disco Man
  • Discographical & Micrographical Basics
  • Discographical Forum
  • Discography (For The Jazz Student)
  • Discomania
  • Discoteca (Italy)
  • Discounter
  • Discoveries
  • Disk in the World
  • Disques
  • Disques: Classiques-Danses Chansons-Jazz
  • Djangology
  • Doo-Wop Newsletter
  • Down Beat
  • Down Beat Music Yearbook
  • Dragen Humanistisk Orientert Tidsskrift (Norway)
  • Drummer
  • Du
  • Du: Die Zeitschrift Der Kultur
  • El Disco
  • Il Disco
  • EAR Magazine(West)
  • Expansions
  • Edmonton Jazzette
  • Easy (Guide to Black Arts)
  • Easy (Black Arts Magazine)
  • EAR Magazine (New York)
  • Estudios Afrocubanos
  • L'Eau Vive
  • Eye Witness Jazz
  • Exile The Literary Quarterly
  • Esto Es Jazz
  • Eureka
  • Elmore
  • Esquire Magazine
  • Esquire Magazine (Japanese)
  • Esquire Jazz Book
  • Evergreen Review
  • Gateway (Nebraska)
  • Gene Lees Jazzletter
  • Gift of Jazz Magazine
  • Gig
  • Golden Years
  • Good Diggin'
  • Goodchilds Jazz Bulletin
  • GQ Japan
  • Grammy Magazine
  • Grammy Pulse
  • Gramophone  
  • Gramophone Record
  • Green Mountain Jazz Messenger
  • GTJ & CR News
  • Guitar Extra
  • La Gouttiere
  • The Good Noise
  • Focus
  • Floy-Floy
  • Freeway
  • Film Fan Monthly
  • For the Record
  • Fusion
  • Fon Gi Der Wilde Jazzgeist
  • Fi: The Magazine of Music & Sound
  • Fono Forum: Zeitschrift fur die Freunde der guten Musik
  • FanFare
  • Hot Notes (NY Jazz Museum)
  • HIP The Milwaukee Jazz Letter
  • Hartford Advocate
  • Hot News & Rhythm Record Review
  • Hot Notes (Dublin)
  • Hot Notes (Ilford & East Ham Rhythm Club)
  • Hot Club De Montevideo
  • Hot News (Malmo, Sweden)
  • International Musician
  • International Society of Bassists
  • InterPlay
  • IPLO Quarterly
  • ITA Journal
  • It's Hip
  • L'Independent Du Jazz
  • Jazz Medlemsblad for Danmarks Jazz-Musik Foreninger
  • Jazz Miexuecznik Ilustrowany (Poland)
  • Jazz Music 
  • Jazz Music (Denmark)
  • Jazz Music Books (London)
  • Jazz New England
  • Jazz News (London)
  • Jazz News (Marge Hofacre's)
  • Jazz News (Paris, France)
  • Jazz News (Zurich,Switzerland)
  • Jazz News: From the West Coast
  • Jazz Notes (Colorado)
  • Jazz Notes (Harwich Port, Massachusetts
  • Jazz Notes (Indiana)
  • Jazz Notes (Newark)
  • Jazz Notes (Tasmania, Australia)
  • Jazz Notes (Victoria, Australia)
  • Jazz Notes And Blue Rhythm (Melbourne, Australia)
  • Jazz Notes: Australia's Magazine for the Connoisseur of Jazz
  • Jazz Notes: Australia's Magazine for the Lover of Hot Jazz
  • Jazz Notes: The Australian Hot Jazz Journal
  • Jazz on CD (London)
  • Jazz Organo Oficial de Pena de Jazz Montevideo (Argentina)
  • Jazz Panorama (Canada)
  • Jazz Parade Udgivet Af Hot Club (Denmark)
  • Jazz Periodico Degli Amatori Italiani Di Hot Jazz (Italy)
  • Jazz Philadelphia (And a Little Blues)
  • Jazz Press (Netherlands)
  • Jazz Quarterly (Chicago)
  • Jazz Quarterly (Texas)
  • Jazz Record Catalog
  • Jazz Register (California)
  • Jazz Report (Creve Couer, MO)
  • Jazz Report (Ventura, CA)
  • Jazz Reports (Denmark)
  • Jazz Reprints (England)
  • Jazz Review: Official Organ of the American Jazz Society (London, England)
  • Jazz Revue (Germany)
  • Jazz Rhythm & Blues (Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Jazz Scene (Switzerland)
  • Jazz Scene Sydney
  • Jazz Series Review
  • Jazz Session (Chicago, Illinois)
  • Jazz Sheet
  • Jazz Society (Norway)
  • Jazz Spotlite News
  • Jazz Studies (British Institute of Jazz Studies)
  • Jazz Swing Journal (France)
  • Jazz Tango (Paris,France)
  • Jazz Tempo (London, England)
  • Jazz Tempo (West Germany)
  • Jazz Times
  • Jazz Times (England)
  • Jazz Times (Sweden)
  • Jazz Times Bulletin (England)
  • Jazz Today (NYC)
  • Jazz Trumpet Journal
  • Jazz World (Limelight Publishing-NYC)
  • Jazz World Index (NYC)
  • Jazz, Blues & Co (France)
  • Jazz: A Guardian Magazine
  • Jazz: Hot Club of Japan Bulletin
  • Jazz: Revue Mensuelle de La Musique Moderne et Danse (Switzerland)
  • Jazz: The Australasian Contemporary Music Magazine
  • Jazz: The Review
  • Jazz@Round (Belgium)
  • Jazz-Arbogen
  • Jazzband (Argentina)
  • Jazzbladid (Iceland)
  • Jazzer (Germany)
  • Jazzette (Boston)
  • Jazzette (Germany)
  • Jazzette (Milano) (Special Issue for Music Unlimited)
  • Jazzfinder (New Orleans, LA)
  • Jazz-Hot (Paris)
  • Jazz-Hot (Paris) + L'Annuaire Du Jazz (Suppl) + Catalogue Programme (Suppl)
  • Jazz-Junction Jive
  • JazzKlubben
  • Jazzland (Italy)
  • Jazzlandia (Argentina)
  • Jazz-Leven (Belgium)
  • Jazzlife (Disc Review) (Japan)
  • Jazzlife (Japan)
  • Jazzlife (Yearbook)
  • Jazzline (Australia)
  • Jazzline (New York)
  • Jazzmal (Iceland)
  • Jazzmania (Argentina)
  • JazzMusik (Germany)
  • Jazz-Newsletter (Institut Darmstadt)
  • Jazz-Nytt Fran SJR
  • JazzNytt Organ For Norsk Jazzforbund (Norway)
  • Jazzology (London)
  • JazzRevy (Denmark)
  • Jazz-Riffs (Belgium)
  • Jazzscene (Jazz Society of Oregon)
  • Jazz-Statistics
  • Jazztime (Italy)
  • Jefferson (Sweden)
  • Jerry's Rhythm Rag
  • Jive Times: Tottenham Rhythm Club (London,England)
  • Joslin's Jazz Journal
  • Journal Into Melody: The Robert Farnon Appreciation Society/The Robert Farnon Society Magazine
  • Joy
  • Just Jass (Birmingham, England)
  • Le Jazzophone (France)
  • The Jazz Beat (Jass Beat, NY)
  • The Jazz Catalyst
  • The Jazz Guide (London)
  • The Jazz Journal
  • The Jazz Scene (London,England)
  • The Jazz Shop (Italy)
  • The Jazzologist
  • Kay's Record Finder
  • Ken Berryhill's Old Record Shop Newsletter (Mississippi)
  • Keynote (Birmingham, England)
  • Keynote: The Music Magazine (London, England)
  • Keynote: the Progressive Music Quarterly (London, England)
  • King Biscuit Time
  • Klacto Jazz Magazine (Hawaii)
  • L.A. Jazz
  • Latin Beat Magazine (California)
  • Lightning Express
  • Liner Notes: Rock & Roll Hall of Fame & Museum (Ohio)
  • Liner Notes; AAAMC (Indiana)
  • Liner Notes; Compact Disc World's (Nutley, NJ)
  • List Udreuzenja Jazz Muzicara (Bosnia)
  • Listen to Norway (Norway)
  • Listen Up (Missouri)
  • Music Mirror (London)
  • Music Pictorial: The Magazine for Popular Music (England)
  • Music World & Record Digest Weekly News (Arizona)
  • Music: organe Du Jazz-Club De Belgique
  • Musica (Milan, Italy)
  • Musica & Dischi (Milan, Italy)
  • Musica & Disco (Brasil)
  • Musica Jazz (Italy)
  • Musica Oggi (Italy)
  • Musical Concepts (Cedarhurst, NY)
  • Musical Express (London, England)
  • Musical News and Dance Band (London, England)
  • Musical Truth (Elkhart, Indiana) (Photocopies)
  • Musician
  • Musicians Classified (NY,NY)
  • Musicians' Voice: A Monthly Newspaper for Professional Musicians (NY,NY)
  • Musikk Nytt (Oslo, Norway)
  • Musikrevue (Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • Muziek Dans (Amsterdam, Netherlands)
  • Muziek Expres (Netherlands)
  • NJSO Journal: The Quarterly News Publication of the Nationl Jazz Service Organization
  • No Name Jazz News (Marge Hofacre's)
  • Norsk Jazz (Norway)
  • North Beach Magazine (California)
  • Northern Society for Jazz Study (England)
  • Not Just Jazz-The Uncommon Denominator (NY)
  • Notiziario Jazz (Italy)
  • Notiziario Romano Del Jazz (Italy)
  • NY Rocker
  • NY Talk
  • NYC Jazz
  • The Needle: Record Collectors' Guide
  • Orchestra World (NY)
  • Orkester Journalen (Sweden)
  • Outlook: The Creative Music Quarterly (NY)
  • Popular Music & Film Song Weekly  (London, England)
  • Popular Songs (Dunellen, NJ)
  • Princeton Recollector (NJ)
  • Public Radio 88FM (Newark, NJ)
  • Pulse! (Tower Records)
  • Quarter Notes (Fresno, Calif)
  • La Revue Du Jazz (France)
  • R & B  Monthly (England)
  • R & B Report (Calif)
  • R & B Scene (England)
  • Radio & Electric Appliance Journal
  • Radio & Television Journal
  • Radio & Television Weekly
  • Radio and Record Stars (Illinois)
  • Radio Free Jazz
  • Radio Jazz (Denmark)
  • Radio Journal
  • Radio Television Journal
  • Radio Weekly
  • Ragtime Review (MO)
  • Ragtime Society (Canada)
  • Ragtimer (Canada)
  • Real Blues (Canada)
  • Real Paper (Section 3 only)
  • Record Advertiser (England)
  • Record Changer
  • Record Collector's Monthly (NJ)
  • Record Finder-- SEE COBWEB CORNER: RECORD FINDER
  • Record Memory Club Magazine (Belgium)
  • Record Mirror (London, England)
  • Record: I.A.J.R.C. (NY)
  • Recordaid (Penn)
  • Recorded Sound (England)
  • Recordiana (Conn)
  • Recordland (Illinois)
  • Records & Recording (England)
  • Red Bank Special (West Sussex England)
  • Relix (NY)
  • Revista Bimestre Cubana
  • Revue des Disques (Brussels, Belgium)
  • Rhythm (NY)
  • Rhythm and Blues (Conn)
  • Rhythm Club Programme Mecca Café, Chancery Lane
  • Rhythm Digest (England)
  • Rhythm Hot Club of Japan Okayama Chapter
  • Rhythm Rag (England)
  • Ritmo Amici del Jazz (Italy)
  • Ritmo Monzese (Italy)
  • Roaring Jazz Croaner Chronicle (Netherlands)
  • Rock and Roll Songs (Conn)
  • Rockingchair (Penn)
  • Route... (Germany)
  • Stagebill--Lincoln Center
  • Storyville (England)
  • Street Singer and Stars of the Thirties (England)
  • Sweet and Hot Magazine (Brussels)
  • Swing Journal (Japan)
  • Swing Music (NY)
  • Swing Officieel Orgaan Van the Batavia Rhythm Club
  • Swing Time (Brussels)
  • Swing, Music, Art (England)
  • Swing: Revista de Jazz Para Todo el Mundo (Argentina)
  • Swing: The Guide to Modern Music (Michigan)
  • Swinging Newsletter (NY)
  • Swingtime (Ruiselede)
  • Talking Machine & Radio Weekly
  • Talking Machine Journal
  • Talking Machine Radio Weekly
  • Talking Machine Review
  • Teaching Music (VA)
  • Teen Strings
  • Tempo (L.A.)
  • Tempo (Temple University Public Radio)
  • Tempo Di Jazz (Italy)
  • Tempo: The Australian Musical News Magazine
  • Tetlow's Vintage Record Guide (England)
  • Texas Jazz
  • Texas Ragg
  • Theme: The Magazine of Music (Calif)
  • Think Jazz (Las Vegas)
  • Time 
  • Time Barrier Express (NY)
  • Top-Spin (England)
  • Tri-State Blues (NY)
  • True Blues (NY)
  • Tune Times (England)
  • Tell It Like It Is (Wisconsin Blues Society)
  • Universal Jazz (England)
  • Up Beat (Chicago)
  • Vox Pop (England)
  • Vintage Jazz Mart (VJM) (England)
  • VierViertel (4/4) (Germany)
  • Village Voice (Jazz Suppl)
  • Whiskey, Women, And… (Massachuesetts)
  • Whoot! (NJ)
  • Why: Challenging Hunger & Poverty (NY)
  • Wilson Quarterly (Washington DC)
  • Wingspread Journal (Wisconsin)
  • WKCR Program Guide (NY)
  • Women of Note Quarterly (Washington)
  • World of Music (Calif)
  • Yesterday's Memories (NY)

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.