Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Graduate Specialist Program (New Brunswick Libraries): Workshops - Date order

Home page for the New Brunswick Libraries' Graduate Specialist Program

Fall 2019 Workshop Master Schedule

Fall 2019 workshop master schedule  (For workshops grouped by topic, click here)

Additional workshop information will be made available in mid-September. 

Additional workshops on High Performance Computing are offered by OARC.  See their calendar and resources for more information.

Bring your own laptop to these sessions to get the most out of them!  

Later in the semester, there are plans to repeat many of these as webinars (schedule to come in late September).

Introduction to SAS

  • Wednesday, September 18 – 12:00-1:20 pm, LSM Conference Room (Instructor, Ryan Womack)
  • Thursday, September 26 – 2:50-4:10 pm, Alexander Library Room 415 (Instructor, Ryan Womack)

This workshop provides an introduction to SAS, covering the basics of navigation, loading data, graphics, and elementary descriptive statistics and regression using a sample dataset. 

SAS is a powerful and long-standing system that handles large data sets well, and is popular in the pharmaceutical industry and health sciences, among other applications.

Citation Management with Zotero

  • Tuesday, September 24, 10:00 am - 11:00 am, Alexander Library, Digital Humanities Lab, Room 406-407 (Instructor: Francesca Giannetti)
  • Thursday, September 26, 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm, Alexander Library, Digital Humanities Lab, Room 406-407 (Instructor: Francesca Giannetti)

Zotero is a free application that collects, manages, and formats citations and bibliographies. In this introductory, hands-on workshop, we’ll learn how to organize sources, attach PDFs and notes, create tags for easy searching, and generate citations and bibliographies in Word. Bring your personal laptop, download Zotero 5.0 for your OS, and the Zotero Connector for your favorite browser. 

R for data analysis: a tidyverse approach

  • Wednesday, September 25 – 12:00-1:20 pm, LSM Conference Room (Instructor, Ryan Womack)
  • Thursday, October 3– 2:50-4:10 pm, Alexander Library Room 415 (Instructor, Ryan Womack)

The session introduces the R statistical software environment and basic methods of data analysis, and also introduces the "tidyverse".  While R is much more than the "tidyverse", the development of the "tidyverse" set of packages, led by RStudio, has provided a powerful and connected toolkit to get started with using R.  Note that graphics and data manipulation are covered in subsequent sessions.

R graphics with ggplot2 

  • Wednesday, October 2 – 12:00-1:20 pm, LSM Conference Room (Instructor, Ryan Womack)
  • Thursday, October 10– 2:50-4:10 pm, Alexander Library Room 415 (Instructor, Ryan Womack)

The ggplot2 package from the tidyverse provides extensive and flexible graphical capabilities within a consistent framework.  This session introduces the main features of ggplot2. Some prior familiarity with R is assumed (packages, structure, syntax), but the presentation can be followed without this background.  

R data wrangling with dplyr, tidyr, readr and more

  • Wednesday, October 9 – 12:00-1:20 pm, LSM Conference Room (Instructor, Ryan Womack)
  • Thursday, October 24 – 2:50-4:10 pm, Alexander Library Room 415 (Instructor, Ryan Womack)

Some of the most powerful features of the tidyverse relate to its abilities to import, filter, and otherwise manipulate data.  This session reviews major packages within the tidyverse that relate to the essential data handling steps require before (and during) data analysis.

Thematic Maps in QGIS

  • Wednesday, October 9, 11:00 am - 12:30 pm, Alexander Library, Room 413 (Instructor: Francesca Giannetti)
  • Tuesday, October 15, 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm, Alexander Library, Room 413 (Instructor: Francesca Giannetti)

Thematic maps show one or more themes (or variables) arranged spatially on a map. In this workshop, we’ll explore the basic building blocks of geospatial visualizations, including data types, file formats, and some ways of representing data, using a free and open source GIS called QGIS.

Georeferencing Historical Maps in QGIS

  • Wednesday, October 16, 11:00 am - 12:30 pm, Alexander Library, Room 413 (Instructor: Francesca Giannetti)
  • Tuesday, October 22, 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm, Alexander Library, Room 413 (Instructor: Francesca Giannetti)

Georeferencing is the process of assigning real world map coordinates to a two dimensional image or raster. This technique allows researchers to take an historic map and plot it in modern mapping software, such as QGIS. In this workshop, we will explore two different methods of using raster imagery in historical GIS.

R for interactivity: an introduction to Shiny

  • Wednesday, October 23 – 12:00-1:20 pm, LSM Conference Room (Instructor, Ryan Womack)
  • Thursday, October 31 – 2:50-4:10 pm, Alexander Library Room 415 (Instructor, Ryan Womack)

Shiny is an R package that enables the creation of interactive websites for data visualization.   This session provides a brief overview of the Shiny framework, and how to edit and publish Shiny sites in RStudio (with shinyapps.io).  Familiarity with R/RStudio is assumed.

R for reproducible scientific documents: knitr, rmarkdown, and beyond

  • Wednesday, October 30 – 12:00-1:20 pm, LSM Conference Room (Instructor, Ryan Womack)
  • Thursday, November 7 – 2:50-4:10 pm, Alexander Library Room 415 (Instructor, Ryan Womack)

The RStudio environment enables the easy creation of documents in various formats (HTML, DOC, PDF) using Rmarkdown, while knitr allows the incorporation of executable R code to produce the tables and figures in those documents. This session introduces these concepts and other packages and practices supporting reproducibility with the R environment.

 

____________________________________________________________

These workshops were offered in Spring 2019.  We expect to offer similar workshops in Fall 2019, with the schedule to be announced in mid-September.

Citation Management with Zotero 

Zotero is a free application that collects, manages, and formats citations and bibliographies. In this introductory, hands-on workshop, we’ll learn how to organize sources, attach PDFs and notes, create tags for easy searching, and generate citations and bibliographies in Word. Bring your personal laptop, download Zotero 5.0 for your OS, and the Zotero Connector for your favorite browser. 

Python Basics and Data Exploration 

This workshop will be an accelerated introduction to fundamental concepts such as variable assignment, data types, basic calculations, working with strings and lists, control structures (e.g. for-loops), functions. We will also start working with pandas, a popular data science library in Python, to explore a dataset on foodborne outbreaks reported to the CDC.

Visualizing Demographic Data in Social Explorer 

This workshop will introduce you to Social Explorer, an online mapping tool that allows you to explore and visualize demographic data. We will explore the tool's basic capabilities and make sample maps using data from the American Community Survey (ACS).

Data Manipulation and Analysis with Python 

In this workshop, we will dive into the world of arrays and data frames using the NumPy and pandas libraries. We'll cover data cleaning and pre-processing, joining and merging, group operations, and more. If you work with tabular data, this workshop is for you!

Data Visualization and Machine Learning with Python 

Interested in finding patterns and predicting unknown attribute values in your data? Join us for an overview of machine learning techniques implemented using the scikit-learn library. We'll also learn how to do data visualization with matplotlib, a popular plotting library in Python.

Introduction to Quantitative Text Analysis

This hands-on workshop will introduce participants to the basics of quantitative textual analysis using the R programming language. Participants will each first select a text of their choice from Project Gutenberg (literary or otherwise), which we will then explore through the demonstration of a variety of approaches, including word frequency, distribution, and co-appearance. No coding experience required.

Data Scraping: Interaction with APIs with Python 

This workshop is intended to show how to use Python to interact with third-party APIs for data collection. Different type of APIs with real applications will be introduced. Examples such as Rest API for FRED and Quandl will be discussed. A project regarding interacting with FRED API and merging with historical data will be demonstrated in detail.

Data Mining: Regression and Classification with Python 

The traditional Least Square estimation, KNN face severe overfitting issues when the dataset has high-dimensional features. Modern data mining regression techniques such as lasso and classification techniques such as SVM gives a better estimation result in such a situation. The workshop intends to show how lasso and SVM works in Python. Compare the estimation result of Lasso with least square estimation, SVM with KNN in the high-dimensional setting.

Introduction to Mapping 

What kind of information should be mapped? Which tool is best for the job? If you’ve ever found yourself asking either of these questions – or any other about getting started with mapping – this workshop is for you. We’ll begin with a primer how to identify what kind of data is best suited by a map and what data is necessary to make a map. Then, we’ll explain how to get started with a few common mapping programs (StoryMap JS, Palladio, Tableau, Carto) and evaluate what kinds of uses each is best suited to.

Accessing and Exploring Twitter Data

This hands-on workshop will step participants through the process of collecting social media data from twitter (by handle, hashtag, and/or search phrase) and some of the concerns involved. Participants will then be introduced to a few simple ways to begin analyzing tweet content and metadata, such as the number of likes and retweets.

Introduction to NVivo

This workshop is intended as a basic introduction to using NVivo, a software that supports qualitative and mixed methods research. The workshop focuses on introducing key mechanisms of the software that may be applied as required by different analytical approaches.

Approaches to Web Scraping in R 

This workshop explores web scraping techniques and strategies in the R programming environment.

Advanced NVivo: Data Visualizations Using NVivo 12

This workshop focuses on the introduction of a suite of visualizations that help you gain deeper insights from your data by exploring and unearthing patterns, trends and connections.

Open Science with Github and Zenodo

Scientists are frequently required to share the products of their funded research. Learn how to use the freely available Github platform for project management and collaboration, and connect your Github project to the open Zenodo repository to share your work, and make it citable with a permanent Digital Object Identifier (DOI). No previous experience is necessary.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.