Skip to main content
USA.gov - Data and Statistics
A good place to start to find statistics by topic. Topics include general government; business and economics; defense and international relations; environment, energy, and agriculture; family, home, and community; geospatial data; health and nutrition; jobs and education; public safety and law; science and technology; and travel, transportation, and recreation.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. [Rutgers Restricted]
Searchable version of the essential resource formerly produced by the U.S. Bureau of the Census. Provides a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Divided into broad sections such as Population; Health and Nutrition; Labor Force, Employment, and Earnings; Foreign Commerce and Aid; and many others.
Statistical Abstract of the United States [Print edition]
The print edition of this title goes back to 1878, with holdings for the entire run located at Alexander Library. The scope is primarily national, with some regional and state data. Tables of data will point to the source of the information, but the Statistical Abstract also includes data not published elsewhere.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Full-text PDF versions of the publication from the U.S. Bureau of the Census from 1878 to 2012. Includes statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States and selected international data. Also includes a full-text PDF version of Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition [Rutgers Restricted]
Covering Colonial times to the year 2000, the database is a standard source for data on all aspects of American history. Sections include population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations with over 37,000 data series and statistics from more than 1,000 sources.
Electronic versions of the annual publication (1994+) from the National Agricultural Statistics Service covering agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
Agricultural Statistics [print]
Available in print since 1936, and also online from the USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service. This title covers agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs and returns. Some foreign country information is included. Many tables include data for 10 or 15 years.
Population, housing, economic, and geographic data compiled by the Census Bureau in an easy to use format. Includes information from the 2010 Census.
Digest of Education Statistics
Electronic versions of the annual from 1990 to the present.
Digest of Education Statistics [Print]
Available in print since 1975, and online since 1990 from the U.S. National Center for Education Statistics. "The Digest's primary purpose is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest contains data on a variety of topics, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, and federal funds for education, libraries, and international comparisons." (preface of the 2011 edition)
Annual Energy Review
Electronic versions of the annual publication from the U.S. Energy Information Administration beginning with 1994.
Annual Energy Review [Print]
"The Annual Energy Review (AER) is the U.S. Energy Information Administration's (EIA) primary report of annual historical energy statistics. Although the volumes begin with 1982, for many series, data begin with the year 1949. Included are statistics on total energy production, consumption, trade, and energy prices; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, and international energy; financial and environment indicators; and data unit conversions." (preface of the 2010 edition)
Science and Engineering Indicators
Electronic versions beginning with 1993.
Science and Engineering Indicators [Print]
Available in print since since 1985. Published biennially by the National Science Board, this series "presents information on science, mathematics, and engineering education at all levels; the scientific and engineering workforce; U.S. and international research and development performance; U.S. competitiveness in high technology; and public attitudes and understanding of science and engineering. A chapter on state-level science and engineering presents state comparisons on selected indicators. An Overview chapter distills selected key themes emerging from the report." (NSF web page)