Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Gender and Technology: Selecting Topics

This research guide is for the students in Gender and Technology course.

Selecting and Narrowing your Topic

Gathering Information

Encyclopedias and handbooks are useful to gather overall information. To access these titles off-campus, you will need RU login.

Encyclopedia of Gender and Information Technology Searchable version of the 2 volume encyclopedia covering key issues, terms, and concepts relating to the role of gender in human interaction with IT and the IT profession. Search for "pay gap" or "glass ceiling, etc.

Sage E-reference Encyclopedia is a collection of encyclopedias in different disciplines published by Sage. 

Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures presents an interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global project embracing women and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. It includes entries on the use of technology.

The Oxford Handbook of Feminist Theory includes comprehensive essays on significant topics by  feminist and gender scholars, including Rutgers faculty. Check out the entry "Cyborgs and Virtual Bodies," "Pop Culture/Visual Culture." 

Search Tips

STEP 1: What is your research topic? 

It is useful to formulate your research topic with a question:

  • Are women still under-represented in the field of computer science? 
  • Is there a relationship between violent video games and violence?
  • How does media represent IT workers?

STEP 2: What are the main concepts?

From the question you formulated, select the words with content:

  • "underrepresentation" AND "women in science"
  • "video game*" AND violence
  • representation AND "information technology workers"

Ignore the words such as still, relationship, between, and any because they link concepts. The words with content are the ones you will use in your search. 

STEP 3: Develop alternative terms or keywords.

  • women in science -- gender bias
  • women scientists -- under-representation
  • women in technology -- retention 
  • digital media -- violence 
  • video games -- violence 
  • representation -- computer programmers
  • media -- information technology workers

STEP 4: Use Boolean connectors "AND" "OR" to combine your search terms

AND narrows the search: 

  • "women in science" AND under-representation
  • "working women" AND retention AND employment

OR broadens the search: 

  • "women scientists" OR "women engineers"
  • "video games" OR "digital media"

(Use quotes to make sure the phrase stays intact). 

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.