Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Rutgers Restricted Periodical and Newspaper Collections
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
African American Newspapers
Christian Recorder (Philadelphia: 1861-1902 [excluding 1892])
Colored American (New York: 1837-1841)
Douglass' Monthly (Rochester, NY: 1859-1863)
Frederick Douglass' Paper (Rochester, NY: 1851-1855)
Freedom's Journal (New York: 1827-1829)
National Era (Washington, D.C.: 1847-1860)
North Star (Rochester, NY: 1847-1851)
Provincial Freeman (Chatham, Ontario): 1854-1857)
Weekly Advocate (New York: 1837)
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection
The full text of over six thousand periodicals from the collections of the American Antiquarian Society. Most are from the later eighteenth and the nineteenth century and most are American, although titles from the British Isles and elsewhere are also included. Features poetry, short fiction, and serialized novels as well as articles.
American Periodical Series
Includes the full text of articles, advertisements, illustrations, editorial cartoons, obituaries, letters to the editor, etc., from more than 1,100 American magazines and journals that began publication between 1741, when Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine first appeared, and 1940. Popular, special interest and general magazines; literary and professional journals; children's and women's magazines; and many other historically significant periodicals are included.
America's Historical Newspapers, Early American Newspapers,1741-1922
A fulltext database of over 1,500 newspapers published between 1741 and 1922. It includes the entire text of each issue, including advertisements, classified advertisements, editorials, letters to the editor, poetry, fiction and obituaries. It allows keyword searching within article title as well as full text. Searches may be limited by date, place of publication, article type, and newspaper title.
Searchable, full-text collection of around 500 important British magazines and journals, from the late 17th through early 20th centuries--with particular strengths in the 19th.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
A multi-disciplinary database providing bibliographic access-more than 20,000,000 records-to books, periodical and newspaper articles, government publications, and archival collections. C19 combines a variety of print and digital resources into one database, and also allows limited searching of specialized sub-collections.
Digital access to thousands of important scholarly journals. Note that JSTOR is retrospective collection, with a moving wall of 2-5 years--that is the most recent articles in JSTOR will always be at least two years old
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Full-text database of American newspapers published between 1800 and 1900. Keyword search allows you to search through the full-text of five hundred titles published in all regions of the country, in both urban and rural communities, throughout the century. Advanced search allows you to limit your search by, among other options, author, title, date and locality, as well as by type of material, such as maps, cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor. The complete content of each issue is available, including advertisements, serialized fiction and book reviews.
Complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Combined Search
Search across the six ProQuest historical newspapers to which the Libraries subscribe:
Chicago Defender (July 31, 1909; January 1, 1910 - December 31, 1975)
New York Times (September 18, 1851 – Three years prior to the current year)
Philadelphia Inquirer (November 7, 1860 – December 31, 2001)
Pittsburgh Gazette (August 29, 1786 to December 31, 2003)
Wall Street Journal (July 8, 1889 – 17 years prior to the current year)
Washington Post (December 6, 1877 – 16 years prior to the current year)
Each newspaper can also be searched separately.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection
A full-text, full-image database of nearly five hundred newspaper titles from the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, most published in London, but some from other parts of Great Britain and a few from overseas. In addition, there are approximately three hundred "newsbooks." Circulated during the Civil War and the Commonwealth, newsbooks were small, cheap weekly pamphlets of current news, the precursors to modern newspapers, Finally, the collection also includes almost three hundred pamphlets and broadsides.