Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Major Crticism and Scholarship Resources
MLA International Bibliography
The most important index for students of literature. The best source for criticism, theory and other scholarly works. Other important titles are listed alphabetically below.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
Covers monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world; unpublished doctoral dissertations are covered for the period 1920 to 1999. All aspects and periods of English literature are covered, from Anglo Saxon times to the present day. British, American and Commonwealth writing are all represented. Coverage is international, including scholarly material in languages other than English. To search this component of Literature Online (LION), connect and click on the link under Criticism.
International Medieval Bibliography
Multidisciplinary coverage of the Middle Ages from 400 to 1500 CE; coverage includes Europe, the Middle East and Africa.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance
Multidisciplinary and multinational coverage of the period from 400-1700 CE, with indexing of articles from around 2000 journals, plus essays from collections, and monographs.
Victorian Studies Bibliography
Freely accessible, with multidisciplinary coverage of the Victorian period.
World Shakespeare Bibliography
The most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide from 1960 onwards.