Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English-Language Dictionaries (Internet)
The American Heritage Reference Collection
This Web page provides links to three free online resources. They are: American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language; Roget’s II: The New Thesaurus; and, American Heritage Book of English Usage.
Cambridge Advanced Learners Dictionary Online
Type a term in the text box and be taken to a standard list of definitions
Go English.com: Pocket English Idioms
This page lists the most popular English-language idioms, from A to Z
Contains words, phrases, and acronyms.
This contains a PDF file of the most obscure 2700 words in the English language, including a few that don’t have current English translations.
Heinle’s Newbury House Dictionary of American English
This contains over 40,000 entries and includes an advanced search feature which allows the user to retrieve words beginning with a single root.
Internet Public Library
A collection of links to a variety of online dictionaries.
Merriam Webster Online
Provides a link to a English-language dictionary, as well as a thesaurus, and Spanish-English dictionary, and a medical dictionary.
A collection of the most popular free English-language dictionaries – this page allows users to enter terms directly into text boxes without first entering the native interface of each dictionary.
This is a free online English-language dictionary. It provides definitions, thesaurus entries, spelling, pronunciation, and etymology for words. Additionally, it provides references to non-English language dictionaries and translation sites.