Organic Chemistry Lab 311 Spring 2020

Citation managers are useful for citing and organizing your references.

At Rutgers, we have RefWorks and Endnote available to all students and faculty. Others are available online, such as Zotero (free) http://www.zotero.org/

Refworks 3 is the latest version of RefWorks. If you have an older Refworks account, you can migrate it to Refworks 3 by clicking the link at the top left of the page, after logging in. For information about Refworks 3 and how to create an account, see this page: https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/refworks3

For information about downloading and using Endnote, see http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/endnote

The ACS style guide : effective communication of scientific information (3rd edition) - Coghill & Garson [Eds.]

Call number QD8.5.A25 1986, located in the reference section on the first floor of the Library of Science and Medicine. The edition from 2006 is available online but only until sometime this month. It is being replaced by an updated version, which we hope to acquire this year.

Here is a nice summary from Penn State Libraries: Quick Guide to ACS Style Please note that this Quick Guide does not contain every type of formatting style for every kind of reference. For now, the best source of information is the ACS Style Guide. See ACS Style Guide, Chapter 14, References. Attached is a copy of Chapter 14 for your use.

Here are the parts of a citation in ACS style. Note that the journal name is abbreviated. These abbreviations can be found in the Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index or CASSI, which is available in the library. A search tool is also available online. For a core list of journal abbreviations, see this link from CAS. (Use the journal abbreviation under the journal title, not the CODEN.)

The following examples of citations for journal articles are taken from the Quick Guide and the ACS Style Guide, Chapter 14, References

For an article taken from an online index (Such as SciFinder):

“When citing indexes like SciFinder Scholar or PubMed, the citation to the original publication follows the format for that type of publication (journal articles, patents, books, etc.) and is followed by the citation to the abstract.(Based on print format and pp. 298-299 and 318-319 of the ACS Style Guide)"  Quick Guide to ACS Style, Penn State Libraries

The AN (Accession Number) is a preferred method of referencing articles found using SciFinder. It isn't necessary to provide the URL for a SciFinder reference if the AN is used. See the following example:

Author 1; Author 2; Author 3; etc. Title. Abbreviated Journal Title [Online] Year, Volume(Issue),
   Inclusive pagination; Name of online index. AN= xxxx:------- (accessed Month day, year).

Babu, V. R.; Sarath, P. S.; Karanth, N. G.; Kumar, M. A.; Thakur, M. S. Development of a   biosensor for caffeine. Anal. Chim. Acta [Online] 2007, 582 (2), 329-334; SciFinder.
  AN=2006:1359559 (accessed Oct 10, 2018).

NOTE: The second and subsequent lines of a citation must be indented. This may not be shown in online sources.

The issue number (in parentheses) is used only when each issue of the journal begins with page 1. If numbering is consecutive within a volume, then the issue number is omited.

For an online journal article:

Author 1; Author 2; Author 3; etc. Title of Article. Journal Abbreviation [Online]. Year, Volume,
  Inclusive Pagination or other identifying information. URL (accessed Month, Day, Year).

Vandenabeele, P.; Edwards, H. G. M.; Moens, L. A Decade of Raman Spectroscopy in Art and
  Archaeology. Chem. Rev. [Online] 2007, 107, 675-686. http://pubs.acs.org/cgi-bin/article.cgi
  /chreay/2007/107/i03/html/cr068036i.html (accessed Oct 10, 2018).

Notes:

Some publications list the first 10 authors followed by a semi-colon and et. al.; check the guidelines. (from the ACS Style Guide)

The journal Biochemistry is an exception. Consult this journal’s instructions to authors for the correct format. Refer to the style guide for differences between online and print sources.

When using ACS Style, if you have any questions you should refer to the Style Guide published by ACS. This is the authoritative reference, not the Quick Guide or this online guide for your course.

For your assignment you will need to find scholarly journal articles. Not everything in a journal is scholarly, or even an article. For example, the following are NOT scholarly:

• Book reviews
• Editorials
• Letters to the Editor
• Short news items

Typical features of a scholarly article include:

• Length: scholarly articles are longer, usually at least 8 pages, but there is no set rule, and they usually include diagrams, charts, or graphs

• References: scholarly articles always have a list of cited works

• Language: scholarly articles are written for other scholars and not the general public, so the language is specialized and technical

• Authors: scholarly articles are written by experts who usually have advanced degrees and academic affiliation

If you are unsure, please contact me at laura.palumbo@rutgers.edu.

This information was adapted from English 201: Research in the Disciplines by Jill Nathanson.

An index contains citation information about an item (books, articles, or other kinds of documents). This includes the title, authors, year of publication, journal name and pages, and usually an abstract. It does not contain full text of the article. SciFinder is an index; when you get full text it is actually coming from the Libraries' journal subscriptions.

A database usually contains the full text of the article or other document, in addition to the bibliographic information listed above. However, the term database may sometimes be used to refer to an index.