Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Caribbean Literature: Home

Writers of the Caribbean

Writers of the Caribbean
"This site offers biographies, bibliographies, and links to information about some of the most prolific writers of the Caribbean. " From East Carolina University.

Collections

Caribbean Literature
"A searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages." Includes dictionaries of the Creole spoken in these countries.
Black Drama: 1850 to the Present
Black Drama contains the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by 201 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. 
 

History

Cambridge History of African and Caribbean Literature
Abiola Irele. New York, Cambridge University Press, 2003. 2 vols.
Volume 2 includes chapters on Caribbean literature. Available?
A History of Literature in the Caribbean 
Arnold, A. James  Amsterdam ; Philadelphia : J. Benjamins. 1995 Available?

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.