Meet Your Librarian!
Zara Wilkinson
Contact:
Paul Robeson Library
300 North 4th Street
Camden, NJ 08102
856-225-2831
Website
300 North 4th Street
Camden, NJ 08102
856-225-2831
Finding Articles
You can also use QuickSearch to search for articles. QuickSearch is a single search portal that can making finding sources easier, but it is not exhaustive and sometimes you will need to consult subject-specific databases in order to find the best articles for your topic. Here are some databases that you might consult for this course:
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions, offering information in nearly every area of academic study
- America: History and LifeThe America: History and Life database covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteCommunication & Mass Media Complete combines two earlier databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. coverage for many more.
- Film & Television Literature Indexilm & Television Literature Index (FTLI) is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering all types of writing, including industry papers, news journalism, and scholarly academic journals on topics for film and television.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides access to more scholarly sources available through Google, with some available in full-Text (must be logged in to Rutgers). Cannot limit to "peer-reviewed" sources so requires caution.
- JSTORJSTOR provides electronic access to back runs of more than 2,000 important scholarly journals in many disciplines, including literature, history, African American Studies, and more.
- Literature Online (LION)Searchable full-text of more than 350,000 literary works in the English language as well as literary criticism.
- MLA International BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliographyindexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, and the teaching of language and literature in journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
Finding Books
QuickSearch is the best place to start your search for either books or articles. You can limit your results to just books by clicking on "Books" (under "Resource Type."
Below you will find a video that walks you through how to use QuickSearch to find a book on a specific topic.
Selected Books
Requesting Books & Articles
If a book or article you need is not available at Rutgers, you can use the following services to request them from another library:
- EZ BorrowRequest books from partner libraries in this geographic region.
- UBorrowRequest books from partner libraries at Big Ten universities.
- Interlibrary LoanRequest articles that cannot be obtained through Rutgers or books that cannot be requested through Rutgers, EZBorrow, or UBorrow.