Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Language Acquisition (21:615:322)

This guide was created specifically for Dr. Jennifer Austin's class - Fall 2021

Off-campus?

It is possible for current Rutgers students, faculty, and staff to access the Rutgers University Libraries' online resources off-campus. Be sure to go through the Libraries Website and you will be prompted to log in with your Rutgers NetID and password. 

Introduction to Online Resources

To search for articles on your topic, start with one of the Rutgers University Libraries subscription databases.  Depending on your topic, there may be a number of helpful online resources.  This guide identifies a few suggested ones (out of the hundreds of possible online resources available) from which you might be able to find relevant articles.  

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) is an index of scholarship in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Material types indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers.

Search Tips:

Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following to be helpful:

· passive bilingual AND SU: executive function

· preverbal amnesia

· language lateralization AND left hemisphere AND child AND injury

· AB: inner speech AND vocabulary OR language processing

· AB: theory of mind AND SU: language AND SU: autism AND AB: child

· SU: language attrition AND literacy OR literate

· AB: musician AND AB: second language

Some relevant indexes/databases

Please see the boxes below for some of the indexes/databases that are most relevant to your Language Acquisition course.

APA PsycInfo

APA PsycInfo indexes the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. This includes book chapters, books, dissertations, technical reports, and articles from over 2,000 journals.

Search Tips:

If you can, try to Map Term to Subject Heading.

If you are unable to identify an appropriate Subject Heading, uncheck that box and search by Keyword.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database with full text for more than 3,000 periodicals, including full text for over 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.

 

Search Tips:

Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following to be helpful:

· passive bilingual AND AB: executive function

· preverbal amnesia

· language lateralization AND left hemisphere AND child AND injury

· AB: theory of mind AND SU: language AND SU: autism AND AB: child

· SU: language attrition AND literacy or literate

· musician AND second language

PubMed

Developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed includes more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed’s primary focus is biomedicine and health sciences, but it also includes related fields such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

Although it contains only citations and abstracts, PubMed does provide links to free full-text content in PubMed Central, the NCBI Bookshelf, and NCBI's Entrez (an integrated molecular biology database). For Rutgers affiliates, the Get it @ R button can be used to link to full-text articles and books through Rutgers University Libraries.

Coverage dates: 1946-present

Full-text articles

Ask a Librarian for Help

There are several ways to seek help from a librarian:

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.