Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Plant Physiology (21:120:330): Full-text articles

This guide was created specifically for Dr. Karina Schafer's class - Fall 2020

Free articles for Rutgers students!

       As a Rutgers student, you generally do not have to pay to get the full-text of an article.  If Rutgers does not own or subscribe to it, request the article through interlibrary loan.  Just be sure to try the following methods first...

How to locate the full-text of articles

With the many online and print journals that Rutgers University Libraries subscribes to, it is very likley we have the full-text of the article you need.  Try steps #A-C below, but if they do not work, request the article through interlibrary loan (step #D)...

 

A.  Within many of our library databases, you may find that the full-text of articles is available either in PDF format or HTML format.  In that case, simply click on the Adobe Acrobat PDF icon or HTML link.

 

B.  If the full-text of an article is not available through that particular database:

1. click on or a "Get Full Text" link and our link resolver may take you directly to the full-text of the article within another Rutgers-subscribed database. 

2. If you see the article listed within QuickSearch, scroll down and click on the appropriate link under "Find Online -- Full text availability" (i.e., the link which lists coverage dates that the article would fall under). That link should take you directly to the full-text of the article. If not, ask a librarian for assistance, or go to step #C below. 

3. If you see the periodical (i.e., journal/magazine/newspaper/etc.) listed:

a) scroll down to the "Find Online" section. Under "Full text availability," click on the link that lists coverage dates your article would fall under. On the next screen, you may need to browse the journal archives or list of issues to find your particular article. If you are unable to locate your article, ask a librarian for assistance, or go to step #C below. 

b) scroll down to the "Find in Library" section. If the Dana Library is listed under "Locations," click over it to see if the publication year for your article is listed. If it is, then the Dana Library has a print copy of your article on the shelves on the lower level. If you are unable to locate your article, ask a librarian for assistance, or go to step #C below. [If one of the other Rutgers University Libraries has a print copy, follow the directions in step #C below.]

4. If you do not see the periodical listed, ask a librarian for assistance, or go to step #C below.

 

C.  For Article Delivery or Interlibrary Loan, log in with your NetID and password:

https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/ill-login 

  1. Along the left panel, under the New Request section, click on Article Request.
  2. Although only the areas marked with an asterisk(*) are required, it is recommended that you fill in as much information as possible. 
  3. Click the Submit Request button.
  4. Remember to Logoff (see the upper-left corner) when you are finished. 

More tips!

Scholarly articles may be freely available through non-traditional means:

  • Some publishers (including the American Chemical Society) are making certain articles available free of charge; others are allowing authors to pay an additional fee to make their specific article in a hybrid journal Open Access. 
  • Many universities and some colleges now have institutional repositories where authors may deposit scholarly articles freely viewable by all. Similarly, there are subject repositories offering authors the same option. Keep in mind, however, that the versions available through these repositories may not necessarily be the final, published ones; but they may be post-prints that are very close to the published version.

Therefore, if the Rutgers University Libraries does not subscribe to a journal, before requesting it via interlibrary loan, consider Googling the article title on the off-chance that the article is immediately available through alternative means.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.