Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Chemistry Seminar - Fall 2019 (21:160:453 / 26:160:601): Sept. 27

This guide was created specifically for Dr. Elena Galoppini's class - Fall 2019

September 27, 2019

Today, you will learn how to use Web of Science and Scopus. Students attending the September 27, 2019 library research session will:

  1. be able to efficiently perform a literature search in Web of Science and Scopus in order to find journal articles written by a specific scientist within the last two-three years
  2. be able to search Web of Science and Scopus for information about a research topic (including refining and sorting results; limiting to review articles)
  3. be able to locate the full-text of a journal article, whether or not it is owned or subscribed to by Rutgers University Libraries
  4. be able to export citations from Web of Science and Scopus into EndNote Web

For additional information about Web of Science and Scopus, including where to go for help or to access training, look at the boxes below.

Web of Science

Web of Science indexes leading scholarly journals, books, proceedings, and other formats. The heart of the platform is the Web of Science Core Collection, which indexes over 20,000 scholarly journals and includes over 1 billion cited references. The Collection includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, although coverage is strongest in the sciences (more than 6,000 journals). This index can be used to demonstrate the impact of particular articles and authors.  Coverage dates: 1900-present

Scopus

Scopus offers coverage in the physical sciences (7,200+ titles), health sciences (6,800+ titles), life sciences (4,300+ titles), plus social sciences and humanities (5,300+ titles). It is a citation and abstract database with over 50 million records. Patents from 5 offices are included. Can be used to demonstrate the impact of particular articles and authors.  Coverage dates: 1996-present

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.