Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Chemistry Seminar - Fall 2019 (21:160:453 / 26:160:601): Sept. 11

This guide was created specifically for Dr. Elena Galoppini's class - Fall 2019

September 11, 2019

Today, the focus is on providing you with a general overview about doing literature research. Students attending the September 11, 2019 library research session will:

  1. be able to explain the scholarly communication process, including what peer review entails
  2. be able to identify based on a citation whether a source is an article, book, conference proceeding, patent, or Web site
  3. be able to search for books using the QuickSearch system
  4. know what articles, books, and citation managers they have access to as Rutgers students
  5. be able to distinguish between original research articles and review articles 

Scholarly Communication Process

Scholarly communication is a cyclical process that is a vital aspect of doing research:

Accessing Books

There are a number of ways in which Rutgers students may access books:

Accessing Articles

There are also a number of ways in which Rutgers students may access articles:

What type of source is it?

As you may be aware, different citation styles are followed depending on the discipline. Even in just the sciences, there's ACS (American Chemical Society), AIP (American Institute of Physics), and CSE (Council of Science Editors), to name a few.  In fact, different publishers use different styles – and may even decide to use different styles depending on the journal in question.

Given a citation, how can you tell what type of source it is?  Here are tips on what to look out for...

  • Book - includes publisher name
  • Journal article - includes volume/issue #
  • Dissertation - includes university name
  • Conference proceeding - includes conference name, location
  • Patent - includes patent # that typically begins with 2 letters
  • Web site - includes URL

 

​For examples of citations in these categories, take a look at the link below:

Find Books

Use the QuickSearch box (below) to find books, videos, media, microforms, and other materials located on all Rutgers campuses. 
  • If you are looking for a specific book, it is best to use Advanced Search to search by:
    • ISBN
    • Title AND Author
  • If you would like to find books about a topic you are interested in, it is best to search by: Subject / Any field
For further information about how to use QiuckSearch, please visit the QuickSearch Help page or Ask-a-Librarian.

QuickSearch

QuickSearch

Submit Search
 
 

Basic Data Management tips

Data management is essential for helping you work more efficiently.  In this course, you will be gathering sources for your named reaction chalk talk and scientist oral presentation from a variety of indexes and databases.  How can you keep track of and organize all these references?  How will you manage all versions of your presentation files?  Data management will only be touched upon lightly here, but below are links to more comprehensive guides.  For now, as you work on your course projects, remember to ask yourself:

  1. What information should I include in file names?
  2. How will I handle versions?
  3. Where and how am I backing up my data?

Sept. 11th slides

September 11, 2019

Please note that there are 7 sub-pages under the "Sept. 11" tab with additional resources that you may also find helpful:

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.