Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Citation Managers
USING CITATION MANAGERS
- An investment of an hour or so now in researching, choosing, installing, and learning a citation manager can save you untold hours of work and hassle every single semester. If you are planning an academic career and expecting to research and write professionally, you will need this. At the most basic level, it’s software that helps you keep track of all the resources you use. Think of it as a digital filing cabinet.
- A citation manager helps you keep track of the resources you find, tag them with searchable descriptors, and create citations and bibliographies. Most have ways to capture full bibliographic citations from databases and the Internet. Most also have ways to support group work and share your databases.
- Even if you do nothing else with a citation manager, it’s useful for organizing and storing bibliographic information about your sources and PDFs of sources themselves. It's essentially a searchable database of the research you've collected.
- If you have a diary assignment about your own information-seeking behavior, this is a good way to collect the notes about what led you to each article, such as what search terms you used, what database you found it in, whether you had to request it through ILL, and so on.
- At a higher level, you can use citation managers to format the citations for your works cited page in the style you choose. The simplest way is to just copy and paste the information from the preview screen to your paper. But many have plug-ins for Word that will let you format the in-text or footnote citation, automatically generate the bibliography, and then change formats with a click of a button if you need to. For example, there may be times when you need to change your MLA formatted citations to APA style or vice versa.
- Zotero, Mendeley, and the basic online version of EndNote are free and can get you started; and for most of these, you can transfer citations from one platform to another if you change your mind. You can also get the full versions of EndNote and RefWorks free as a Rutgers student. Visit the Citation Management Tools page for more information.
Citation Formatting and Management Tools
EndNote [Rutgers Restricted]
EndNote is a citation management tool available to all Rutgers affiliated students, faculty, and staff.
RefWorks 3 [Rutgers Restricted]
A research management tool that makes it easy to save references, documents, articles, and web pages and organize them into your own personal research library.
An add-on for the Firefox browser that allows you to collect, manage, and cite your research sources.
Generates bibliographic citations in MLA or APA. From the North Carolina State University Libraries.
Citation Management Tools
Information on the tools supported by the Rutgers University Libraries (EndNote, RefWorks, and Zotero).
An easy to use citation generator for APA, MLA, and Chicago style citations.
Cite This For Me
A free citation generator for APA, MLS, Chicago, and many other citation styles.
Allows for collaboration between users and 1GB of free cloud storage. Requires download.
RefWorks [Rutgers Restricted]
A web-based research management tool that allows you to import references from many electronic databases and catalogs, include citations in your paper, build a bibliography using a variety of citation styles, and create a bibliography in a choice of formats. Free for Rutgers students.
Easy to use citation generator for a variety of citations styles.
Son of Citation Machine
Generates bibliographic citations in APA, MLA, Chicago, or Turabian format based on information you enter into a web form.
Zotero Research Guide
Contains examples of how to use Zotero with some of the library resources at Rutgers University.