Oral History Peridocals
The Oral History Review by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 0094-0798Publication Date: Vol. 1, 1973 -
Oral History Forum d'histoire orale by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 1923-0567Publication Date: Vol 1 (1975-76) -
Oral History Journal of South Africa by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 2309-5792Publication Date: Volume 3 Issue 1 2015 -
African American Communities
African American Communities
Database of primary source material related to African American community life from the second half of the 19th century through the 20th. Focusing on communities in Atlanta, Chicago, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina, it comprises oral histories, including audio and video files, correspondence, leaflets and pamphlets, magazines and periodicals, legal documents and official records, photographs, maps, ephemera, and images of objects. Key themes include: desegregation; urban renewal and housing problems; civil rights activities and protests; race relations and community integration, and African American culture. Rutgers Restricted Access
AMMP Oral History Collections
Oral History Collections
"The Archives and Modern Manuscript Program's (AMMP) Oral History Collections cover a broad range of topics, people and institutions from throughout the medical and health sciences. Chiefly from the 1960s to the present, the collections consist of interviews with physicians, scientists, government administrators, medical librarians, and health-business executives. AMMP is also the service home for the Food and Drug Administration and the Medical Library Association oral history programs."
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories documents the personal experience of immigrants to Canada and the United States over more than two centuries. In addition to letters, diaries and oral histories, there are a limited number of other sources, including immigration guides and cartoons. There is extensive indexing that allows you to search by, for example, place of birth, place of entry, occupation, and gender. Rutgers Restricted Access
Oral History Online
Oral History Online
Oral History Online provides access to oral histories of English-speaking men and women from all walks of life. The database contains some proprietary material, but for the most part it serves as a detailed index of thousands of oral history projects worldwide. In some cases the records link to the full-text of the oral history transcripts or to video or audio files. In other cases, only a description of the collection or the oral history interview is provided. Extensive indexing allows you to search by place of birth, race, gender, occupation, historical event or a variety of other options. Rutgers Restricted Access
Visual History Archive (VHA)
Visual History Archive (VHA)
The USC Shoah Foundation Institute's Visual History Archive contains 53,000 video testimonies in 32 languages (without subtitles) from 56 countries. The Institute interviewed Jewish survivors (49,400 out of the total) and other persons with experience of the Holocaust. Each interview consists of a single witness speaking about his or her life before, during, and after World War II, guided by questions from a trained interviewer. Rutgers Restricted Access
Oral History Database (NOAA): Voices from the Fisheries
Oral History Database (NOAA)
"Separately, each history provides an in depth view into the professional and personal lives of individual participants. Together, they have the power to illuminate common themes, issues and concerns across diverse fishing communities over time. The Voices from the Fisheries Database is a powerful resource available to the public to inform, educate, and provide primary information for researchers interested in our local, human experience with the surrounding marine environment. "
Recommended Reading
Listening on the Edge by Call Number: D16.14.L57 2014ISBN: 9780199859306Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Oral History for the Qualitative Researcher by Call Number: D16.14.J36 2010ISBN: 9781606235560Publication Date: 2010-03-18
The Oral History Reader by Call Number: D16.14.O76 2006ISBN: 9780415343039Publication Date: 2006-05-25
Thinking about Oral History by Call Number: D16.14.H36 2008ISBN: 9780759110915Publication Date: 2007-10-15
