Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Applied Geophysics - Spring 2019: Citations

This guide was created specifically for Dr. Kristina Keating's class - Spring 2019

Citations & Avoiding Plagiarism

On this page, the left column focuses on APA citation style and the right column lists the different citation management software that you have access to as a Rutgers student. Citation managers can be a great help with citations - in text and the bibliography page.

If you would like to learn more about avoiding plagiarism, please visit the sub-page by that name: Avoiding Plagiarism

Citations Exercise

For your final Written Paper Assignment, Dr. Keating expects you to follow APA (American Psychological Association) citation style. Work on the following exercises to see how well you know APA style:

1)    Take a look at the full-text PDF for this article: https://login.proxy.libraries.rutgers.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=55591205&site=ehost-live

a)    How would you cite this in the Reference section of your paper?

b)    How would you cite it within the text of your paper?

2)    Take a look at the full-text PDF for this article: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0926985114003395

a)    How would you cite this in the Reference section of your paper?

b)    How would you cite it within the text of your paper?

Feel free to use the resources listed below to help you with this.  [Answers are available here.]

APA Style Manual

Helpful Resources for APA style online

There are many Web sites out there that assist students with learning APA style, but here are a couple of favorites:

Citation managers

Citation managers enable you to organize the citations you find by exporting them from the Rutgers University Libraries’ databases and placing them in folders.  When you write your paper, you can use the citation manager to insert brief citations in the text and to prepare a bibliography in APA, MLA, or almost any other style.  The citation managers on the right are Web-based and include the  button in the citation record.  Clicking on “Search for Article” will lead you to the article in full text, if it is available.

EndNote Web

EndNote is a program that helps users collect and organize references from online or other sources, create a searchable personal database of references, find fulltext articles, manage and annotate PDF files, cite references while writing a paper, create bibliographies formatted in a preferred style, and more.

EndNote basic is a web-based version of EndNote designed to work in the cloud. Users who work from multiple computers, or need to work collaboratively may find EndNote basic very useful. EndNote and EndNote basic are designed to work in concert although each can be used independently. By using EndNote basic users can synchronize their libraries with EndNote desktop providing a secure backup and the ability to work on projects from any computer with an internet connection. Users can also share their libraries with colleagues or fellow students. A free EndNote basic account can be created from within EndNote or Web of Science, or at MyEndNoteWeb.com.

EndNote for iPad app is free for download from the Apple Store to all EndNote users. The app allows users to find, store, create, and share references anywhere and anytime. It also enables PDF annotations directly within the app.

For information on how to use EndNote, take a look at these resources:

RefWorks / RefWorks 3

With the financial support of the Rutgers-Newark Dean’s Offices, the University Libraries can offer the opportunity to export citations to RefWorks from almost all journal index databases and QuickSearch.  The process of exporting citation to RefWorks differs depending on the source.  For more information about RefWorks and to connect directly, see the links below. 

Zotero

Zotero is a free and easy-to-use Firefox extension that can be used to manage citations.  It was developed as a joint project of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the Institute of Museum and Library Services, and the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

For information on how to use Zotero, take a look at these resources:

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.