Physical Sciences Librarian
Ask-A-Librarian
There are several ways to seek help from a librarian:
Off-campus?
It is possible for current Rutgers students, faculty, and staff to access the Rutgers University Libraries' online resources off-campus. Be sure to go through the Libraries Website and you will be prompted to log in with your Rutgers NetID and password.
Introduction to Online Resources
To search for articles on your topic, start with one of the Rutgers University Libraries subscription databases. Depending on your topic, there may be a number of helpful online resources. This guide identifies three suggested ones (out of the hundreds of possible online resources available) from which you might be able to find relevant articles.
- Full list of "Indexes and Databases"Access to most of these is restricted to the Rutgers community.
GeoRef
GeoRef indexes geoscience literature around the world, containing over 3.4 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, as well as theses and dissertations from United States and Canadian universities. Also included are all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. GeoRef covers the geology of North America is from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. It includes access to GeoRef In Process. It can also be searched on the GeoScience World platform, along with GeoScience World journals.
- Connect to GeoRefProQuest - access is restricted to the Rutgers community.
- Training Guide for GeoRefIncludes:
o Search Tips
o Overview of the Results Page
o Overview of the Document View
ProQuest Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection
The ProQuest Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection searches 3 databases: ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstract; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database; and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). It contains scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications about critical issues affecting Earth’s air, land, and water environments.
- Connect to ProQuest Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science CollectionProQuest - access is restricted to the Rutgers community.
- Training Guide for Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science CollectionIncludes:
o Search Tips
o More information about the resource
GeoScience World
GeoScience World offers the option of searching the full text of GeoScience World journals. It can also search GeoRef at the same time. Specialised searching options include geographic search and searching by charts, figures, and tables.
- Connect to GeoScience WorldGeoScience World - access is restricted to the Rutgers community.
TIPS
- Some recommended geophysics journals- Scholarly peer-review journals that include original research articles
- Journals that emphasize review articles - How to obtain the full-text of articles- Learn how to locate the full-text of articles
Licensing Information
This guide is copyright-protected, but you are welcome to reuse it as per the license below (click for more details):
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.