Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

English Composition: The Ones Who Walk Away From Omelas (21:355:102): Find Articles

This course guide was created specifically for Instructor Marissa Candiloro's Spring 2019 ENG 102 class.

Ask-A-Librarian

There are several ways to seek help from a librarian:

Off-campus?

When attempting to access Rutgers-restricted sources off-campus, you will be prompted to LOGIN with your NetID and password

Introduction to Online Resources

To search for articles on your topic, start with one of the Rutgers University Libraries subscription databases.  Depending on your topic, there may be a number of helpful online resources.  This guide identifies a few suggested ones (out of the hundreds of possible online resources available) from which you might be able to find relevant articles.  

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database with full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

 

Search Tips:


Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following to be helpful:

 

·         Omelas

·         injustice AND privilege

·         injustice AND disobedience

·         SU: ethics AND disobedience

·         SU: sacrifice AND SU: ethics

·         AB: sacrifice OR scapegoat AND SU: ethics

·         AB: sacrifice OR scapegoat AND AB: ethics or injustice

 

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography includes 2 million citations drawn from 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.  It covers criticism and scholarship on literature from around the world.

 

Search Tips:


Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following to be helpful:

·         Omelas AND (sacrifice OR suffering OR scapegoat)

·         SU: ethics AND SU: (sacrifice OR suffering) 

·         (ethics OR injustice) AND (sacrifice OR suffering OR scapegoat)

 

Literature Resource Center (LRC)

Literature Resource Center (LRC) is a full-text database covering more than 124,000 authors.  In addition to critical analysis of authors and their works, biographies and bibliographies are also included.

 

A newer novel may not have much literature criticism about it yet, but you may find some of the lengthier reviews useful.

 

 

Search Tips:


1) Perform a Basic Search for the short story:  The Ones Who Walk Away From Omelas

 

2) After looking over the Literature Criticism results, consider looking at Reviews & News

 

3) Limit Search by Subjects:

·         The Ones Who Walk Away From Omelas

·         Le Guin, Ursula K.

 

 

4) As you scroll through the results, note the Word Count and consider looking at those that are 1,000 words or more

Link to sub-page: Full-text articles

Physical Sciences Librarian

Bonnie Fong's picture
Bonnie Fong
Contact:
John Cotton Dana Library

185 University Ave

Newark, NJ 07102-1814

(973) 353-3811

Licensing Information

This guide is copyright-protected, but you are welcome to reuse it as per the license below (click for more details):

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.