Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Chemistry Writing - Spring 2019 (21:160:350): Citation Managers

This guide was specifically created for Dr. Jenny Lockard's class - Spring 2019

ACS ChemWorx

Citation managers

Citation managers enable you to organize the citations you find by exporting them from the Rutgers University Libraries’ databases (and other locations) and placing them in folders.  When you write your paper, you can use the citation manager to insert brief citations in the text and to prepare a bibliography in APA, MLA, Chicago, JACS, or almost any other style.  The citation managers on the right are Web-based and may include the  button in the citation record.  Clicking on “Search for Article” will lead you to the article in full text, if it is available.

EndNote

EndNote is a program that helps users collect and organize references from online or other sources, create a searchable personal database of references, find fulltext articles, manage and annotate PDF files, cite references while writing a paper, create bibliographies formatted in a preferred style, and more.

EndNote basic is a web-based version of EndNote designed to work in the cloud. Users who work from multiple computers, or need to work collaboratively may find EndNote basic very useful. EndNote and EndNote basic are designed to work in concert although each can be used independently. By using EndNote basic users can synchronize their libraries with EndNote desktop providing a secure backup and the ability to work on projects from any computer with an internet connection. Users can also share their libraries with colleagues or fellow students. A free EndNote basic account can be created from within EndNote or Web of Science, or at MyEndNoteWeb.com.

EndNote for iPad app is free for download from the Apple Store to all EndNote users. The app allows users to find, store, create, and share references anywhere and anytime. It also enables PDF annotations directly within the app.

For information on how to use EndNote, take a look at these resources:

RefWorks

With the financial support of the Rutgers-Newark Dean’s Offices, the University Libraries can offer the opportunity to export citations to RefWorks from almost all journal index databases and the library catalog.  The process of exporting citation to RefWorks differs depending on the source.  For more information about RefWorks and to connect directly, see the links below. 

For information on how to use RefWorks, take a look at these resources:       

RefWorks 3 (Flow)

RefWorks 3 (Flow) is the latest version of the citation management tool, RefWorks. It allows you to save and organize your references, create bibliographies, and auto-format citations or footnotes for your paper. In addition, RefWorks 3 (Flow) includes features such as the ability to drag-and-drop PDF files into the system, highlight and annotate them, then share them with others.

For more information about RefWorks 3 (Flow), take a look at these resources:

Physical Sciences Librarian

Bonnie Fong's picture
Bonnie Fong
Contact:
John Cotton Dana Library

185 University Ave

Newark, NJ 07102-1814

(973) 353-3811

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.