Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Urban Environment Research Seminar: Finding Archival Collections

Newark Archives

The Newark Archives Project
The Newark Archives Project is creating detailed descriptions of primary materials relating to Newark that are available in repositories in Newark and elsewhere. The collections described include papers of individuals and families; records of government agencies, organizations, and businesses; photographs and film; audio collections; and more. A wonderful, and growing, resource for finding archival materials on Newark!

Some Archival Collections at Rutgers

Special Collections and University Archives
Rutgers Special Collections and University Archives collects, preserves, and makes available primary sources of a rare, unique, or specialized nature.

The Sinclair New Jersey Collection of printed materials (approximately 67,000 monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and serials) is the largest, most comprehensive library documenting New Jersey history and culture.

Federal Surveillance: Digital Archives

Archives Unbound: Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s Searchable collection of FBI files. Includes the COINTELPRO files, and files on Abbie Hoffman, the Black Panther Party, Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers, Kent State, Malcolm X, Mississippi burning, Muslim Mosque, Inc., the Organization of Afro-American Unity, the Students for a Democratic Society and the Weatherman Underground Organization, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, and on Communist Infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference. Rutgers-restricted Access

FBI Files

FBI Electronic Reading Room [The Vault]. Digital documents from the files of the FBI. You can use the A-Z Index, or browse through categories of documents.

American Memory

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
The Library of Congress site offers access to more than 9 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections of primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The collections include manuscripts, photographs, posters, maps, books, pamphlets, and sheet music, as well as sound recordings and motion pictures and can either be browsed or searched.

Archival Databases/Guides

ArchiveGrid
Index to archival collection descriptions and finding aids. Rutgers-restricted Access
Worldcat
Union catalog of over 179 million bibliographic records for titles owned by libraries that participate in/contribute to OCLC. As part of "Advanced Search" allows you to limit your search to "archival materials". (Rutgers-restricted Access)
New Jersey Historical Society.
The New Jersey Historical Society in Newark has a rich collection of archival and other materials relating to the political, social, cultural and economic history of New Jersey. You can search or browse the Finding Aids to NJHS collections. Note: The New Jersey Historical Society Library is currently open 12:00 pm to 5:00 pm Tuesday thru Saturday.
Princeton University Findings Aids
Over 1700 finding aids from the Princeton Department of Rare Books and Special Collections. The Department of Rare Books and Special Collections includes the Manuscripts Division (housed at Firestone Library) and the Princeton University Archives and Public Policy Papers (housed at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library).
Temple University: Urban Archives
Part of the Temple University Special Collections Research Center, the Urban Archives documents the social, economic, political, and physical development of the greater Philadelphia region.
New York City Municipal Archives Digital Galleries
Online exhibits and digitized collections of images and documents.
New York Public Library Archives and Manuscripts Catalog
Search the Archives and Manuscripts collections included in the New York Public Library catalog. To search the full text of archival collections descriptions search AMAT, the Archival Materials Access Tool.
Archival Finding Aids Hosted at New York University
Search across finding aids for collections in the Fales Library & Special Collections (NYU); the Tamiment Library and Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives; New York University Archives; and the New York Historical Society.
Columbia University Archival Collections Portal
Descriptions and finding aids for more than 3,500 archival collections in six Columbia University Libraries repositories. These collections include personal papers, institutional records, corporate archives, architectural drawings, printed ephemera, and many other types of content.

Working in Paterson

Working in Paterson: Occupational Heritage in an Urban Setting
"470 interview excerpts and 3882 photographs from the Working in Paterson Folklife Project of the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress. The four-month study of occupational culture in Paterson, New Jersey, was conducted in 1994."

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.