Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

English Composition: Sing, Unburied, Sing (21:355:102): English Literature Research

This course guide was created specifically for Instructor Emily Caris' Fall 2018 & Spring 2019 ENG 102 classes.

Ask-A-Librarian

There are several ways to seek help from a librarian:

Off-campus?

When attempting to access Rutgers-restricted sources off-campus, you will be prompted to LOGIN with your NetID and password

English Literature Research

Please see the boxes below for databases in which you may search for literary criticism, as well as for topics related to English literature.

Literature Resource Center (LRC)

Literature Resource Center (LRC) is a full-text database covering more than 124,000 authors.  In addition to critical analysis of authors and their works, biographies and bibliographies are also included.

 

A newer novel may not have much literature criticism about it yet, but you may find some of the lengthier reviews useful.

 

 

Search Tips:


1) Perform a Basic Search for the novel:  Sing, Unburied, Sing

 

2) After looking over the Literature Criticism results, consider looking at Reviews & News

 

3) Limit Search by Subjects:

·         Ward, Jesmyn

·         Sing, Unburied, Sing

 

 

4) As you scroll through the results, note the Word Count and consider looking at those that are 1,000 words or more

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography includes 2 million citations drawn from 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.  It covers criticism and scholarship on literature from around the world.

 

Search Tips:


Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following to be helpful:

·         SU: "animal imageryAND SU: "American literature"

·         family novel AND (South OR Southern)

·         family novel AND SU: genre conventions

·         "epic novel"

·         SU: "magic realism

·         SU: "magic realismAND genre

·         SU: "Southern American literature

Physical Sciences Librarian

Bonnie Fong's picture
Bonnie Fong
Contact:
John Cotton Dana Library

185 University Ave

Newark, NJ 07102-1814

(973) 353-3811

Licensing Information

This guide is copyright-protected, but you are welcome to reuse it as per the license below (click for more details):

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.