Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
When attempting to access Rutgers-restricted sources off-campus, you will be prompted to LOGIN with your NetID and password.
There are several ways to seek help from a librarian:
Rutgers Libraries Toolbar
The Rutgers University Libraries Toolbar is a free Firefox extension (or add-on) that:
- provides a drop-down menu to library resources
- embeds library links on popular Websites such as Amazon.com
- offers special functionality when you highlight terms on a Website and right-click over them with your mouse
- allows linking from ISBNs, ISSNs, PubMed IDs, and DOIs to Rutgers-restricted online resources
- is easy to install and easy to use
For more information, click on the link below:
Introduction to Online Resources
The Rutgers University Libraries offers access to hundreds of online resources. We realize that this might be a little overwhelming. To help you determine which one(s) to start with, the list of indexes and databases identifies “core” and “related” indexes and databases in the areas of environmental sciences, geology and Earth sciences, etc. If you are looking for a particular index or database, however, you may find it more efficient to browse our alphabetical listing of resources. Please click on the appropriate link below:
Here are a few "quick pick" Earth & environmental science indexes and databases:
Covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Contains over 2.6 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers and reports, all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey, and Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities. Includes access to GeoRef In Process. Can be searched on the GeoScience World platform, along with GeoScience World journals.
GeoScience World contains the full text of high-impact peer reviewed journals in the geosciences. It can also search GeoRef at the same time.
ProQuest Earth Science Collection
The ProQuest Earth Science Collection searches 5 sub-collections: GeoRef, GeoRef In Process, Oceanic Abstracts, ProQuest Deep Indexing: Earth Sciences, and ProQuest Earth Science Journals. It contains Earth Science-related full-text articles as well as granular access to figures and tables within these articles.
ProQuest Environmental Science Collection
The collection contains environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM). ESPM provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
Scopus offers coverage in the physical sciences (7,200+ titles), health sciences (6,800+ titles), life sciences (4,300+ titles), plus social sciences and humanities (5,300+ titles). It is a citation and abstract database with over 50 million records. Patents from 5 offices are included. Can be used to demonstrate the impact of particular articles and authors. Coverage dates: 1996-present
Web of Science (Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Science Citation Indexes)
An enhanced web version of Thomson/ISI's citation indexes, including the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Coverage is strongest in the sciences (more than 6000 journals). Includes citations and references for articles in almost 9,000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals – chosen for their credibility, influence, and relevancy – published from 1984 to the present. Can be used to demonstrate the impact of particular articles & authors.
Physical Sciences Librarian