Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are additional reference resources available to help you with your research. These include electronic dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks. On our website, click on the Research Resources tab for the following Electronic Encyclopedias and Electronic Reference Sources.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration
Encyclopedia of American Immigration offers a clear and innovative approach to immigration history that can also be used by advanced students and scholars.
Encyclopedia of race, ethnicity and society
This encyclopedia offers a comprehensive look at the roles race and ethnicity play in society and in our daily lives. Over 100 racial and ethnic groups are described, with additional thematic essays offering insight into broad topics that cut across group boundaries and which impact on society.
Immigration and Asylum: From 1900 to the Present
Almost 200 signed entries on diasporas, countries (sending & receiving), issues, themes, laws, and processes. International in scope, but with a strong emphasis on the U.S. Includes an extensive compilation of documents relating to immigration and asylum
Immigration and multiculturalism : essential primary sources
"Primary source documents focused on immigration and multiculturalism in the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context. International in scope."
Search a variety of subject specific electronic encyclopedias.
Electronic Reference Sources
A links to all of our electronic reference sources to help you with your research.
This guide will lead to many newspaper sites with online searchable archives, as well as to physical collections of newspapers
Links to electronic dictionaries.
Other research guides that might be helpful: