Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

American History Research Guide: Women

Women

See also the Library Guide for Women's and Gender Studies.

The ABC-CLIO Companion to Women in the Workplace
Camden, Douglass, and Carr Reference: HD6095.S34 1993

Affirmative action: A Reference Handbook
Camden Reference: HF5549.5.A34E39 1999
Alexander Stacks: HF5549.5.A34E39 1999

The ABC-CLIO Companion to Women's Progress in America
Douglass and Carr Reference: HQ1410.F76 1994

American Women: A Library of Congress Guide for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States
Alexander Government Documents Reference: HQ1410.A44 2001
Douglass and Dana (Newark) Reference: HQ1410.A44 2001

American Women Civil Rights Activists: Biobibliographies of 68 Leaders, 1825-1992
Camden Stacks: JC599.U5H273 1993
Carr Reference: JC599.U5H273 1993

American Women in Sport, 1887-1987: a 100-year Chronology
Alexander and Camden Stacks: GV583.A64 1989
Douglass and Dana (Newark) Reference: GV583.A64 1989

American Women's History
Douglass Reference: HQ1115.W4 1994

American Women's Magazines: An Annotated Historical Guide
Douglass and Carr Reference: PN4879.H96 1989

The Book of Women's Firsts: Break-Through Achievements of almost 1,000 American Women
Douglass Reference: CT3260.R428 1992

The Columbia Documentary History of American Women
Douglass Reference: HQ1420.C65 2003

The Columbia Guide to American Women in the Nineteenth Century
Camden and Douglass Reference: HQ1418.C58 2000

A Companion to American Women's History
Alexander, Camden, and Douglass Reference: HQ1410.C63 2002

Encyclopedia of Women in American History (3 vols.)
Alexander Reference: HQ1410.E53 2001

Encyclopedia of Women in American Politics
Alexander, Camden, and Carr Reference: HQ1236.5.U6E53 1999

Encyclopedia of Women's History in America
Douglass and Dana Reference: HQ1410.C85 2000

Encyclopedia of American Women in Business: from Colonial Times to the Present (2 vols.)
Carr Reference: HD6054.4.U6K753

Encyclopedia of Women in American History (3 vols.)
Alexander Reference: HQ1410.E53 2001

Encyclopedia of Women in American Politics
Alexander, Camden, Carr Reference: HQ1236.5.U6E53 1999

The Encyclopedia of Women's History in America
Douglass and Dana (Newark) Reference: HQ1410.C85

Great Lives from History: American Women Series (5 vols.)
Douglass Reference: HQ1412.G74 1995

Handbook of American Women's History
Alexander, Douglass, Camden, Carr, and Dana (Newark) Reference HQ1410.H36

The History of American Women's Voluntary Organizations, 1810-1960: A Guide to Sources
Alexander and Douglass Reference: Z7964.U49B53 1989

A History of Women in the United States: State-by-State Reference (4 vols.)
Alexander and Douglass Reference: HQ1410.H58 2004

Jewish Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia (2 vols.)
Alexander, Douglass, Camden, and Dana (Newark) Reference: DS115.2.J49 1997

Milestones: A Chronology of American Women's History
Douglass and Camden Reference: HQ1410.W434 1997

Notable American Women, 1607-1950 (3vols.)
Alexander, Camden, Dana (Newark), Douglass, Carr Reference: CT3260.N57

Outstanding Women Athletes: Who They are and How They Influenced Sports in America
Douglass and Dana (Newark) Reference: GV697.A1W69 1992

The Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History
Camden and Douglass Reference: HQ1410.R43 1998

The Routledge Historical Atlas of Women in America
Douglass Reference: HQ1410.P68 2000

Sources on the History of Women's Magazines, 1792-1960: An Annotated Bibliography
Douglass Reference: PN4879.Z83 1991

Timelines of American Women's History
Douglass Reference: HQ1410.H45 1996

United States Government Documents on Women, 1800-1990: A Comprehensive Bibliography (2 vols.)
Alexander, Camden, Douglass, SMLR, and Dana (Newark) Reference: HQ1410.H85 1993

What American Women Did, 1789-1920: A Year-by-year Reference
Camden Reference: HQ1154.C665 2001
Douglass Stacks: HQ1154.C665 2001

Women and Feminism in American History: A Guide to Information Sources
Douglass and Dana (Newark) Reference: HQ1410.T52 1981

Women and the Law: Leaders, Cases, and Documents
Douglass Reference: KF478.K84 2003

Women and the National Experience: Primary Sources in American History
Douglass Reference: HQ1410.W644 1996

Women during the Civil War: An Encyclopedia
Alexander and Douglass Reference: E628.H37 2004

Women, Health, and Medicine in America: a Historical Handbook
Douglass and LSM Reference: RA564.85.W664 1990

Women in Popular Culture: A Reference Guide
Douglass and Dana (Newark) Reference: HQ1426.F685
Alexander, Camden, and Carr Sacks: HQ1426.F685

Women in the United States Military, 1901-1995: A Research Guide and Annotated Bibliography
Camden and Douglass Reference: UB418.W65F75 1996

Women Patriots of the American Revolution: A Biographical Dictionary
Douglass Reference: E276.C5 1991

Women Religious History Sources: A Guide to Repositories in the United States
Douglass Reference: BX4220.U6W65 1983

Women's History Sources: A Guide to Archives and Manuscript Collections in the United States (2 vols.)
Alexander, Douglass, Carr, and Dana (Newark) Reference: Z7964.U49W64

British and American History and Political Science Librarian - New Brunswick

Tom Glynn's picture
Tom Glynn
Contact:
Alexander Library
Rutgers University
169 College Ave.
New Brunswick, NJ
(848) 932-6105

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.