Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

American History Research Guide: Law, Politics, and Government

Law, Politics, and Government

America at the Polls: A Handbook of American Presidential Election Statistics
Alexander and Douglass Reference: JK524.A73 1994

American Presidential Campaigns and Elections (3 vols.)
Carr Reference: JK1965.A57 2003

The American Presidents
Alexander Reference: E761.1.A6566 2000

American State Governors, 1776-1976 (3 vols.)
Alexander Reference: JK2447.K35

Encyclopedia of American Political History
Camden Reference: E183.E48 2001

Encyclopedia of American Political History: Studies (3 vols.) of the Principal Movements and Ideas
Alexander, Camden, Carr, and Dana (Newark) Reference: E183.E5 1984

Encyclopedia of Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues, and Platforms
Alexander Reference: E176.1.R6 2004

Encyclopedia of the United States Cabinet (3 vols.)
Carr Reference: E176.G89 2000

Encyclopedia of Third Parties in America (3 vols.)
Alexander and Camden Reference: JK2261.E474 2000

Encyclopedia of Women in American Politics
Alexander, Camden, and Carr Reference: HQ1236.5.U6E53 1999

Facts about the Congress
Alexander Reference: JK1021.C48 1996

Facts about the Presidents
Alexander Reference: E176.1.K3 2001

The Founders' Constitution (5 vols.)
Alexander, Camden, and Dana (Newark) Reference: KF4502.F68 1987

Freedom's Lawmakers: A Directory of Black Officeholders during Reconstruction
Alexander Reference: E185.96.F64 1996

Gubernatorial Elections, 1787-1997
Alexander and Camden Stacks: JK2447.G76 1998

Guide to Manuscripts in the Presidential Libraries
Alexander, Camden, and Dana (Newark) Reference: CD3029.82.B87 1985

Guide to U.S. Elections
Alexander, Camden, Douglass, Carr, Dana (Newark) Reference: JK1967 .C662

Historic Documents on Presidential Elections 1787-1988
Alexander Reference: JK1965.H56 1991

Historic Documents on the Presidency, 1776-1989
Dana (Newark) Reference: JK511.H57 1989

Historic U.S. Court Cases, 1690-1990: An Encyclopedia
Camden Reference: KF385.A4J64 1992
Douglass Stacks: KF385.A4J64 1992

The Historical Atlas of Political Parties in the United States Congress, 1789-1989
Alexander, Camden, and Dana (Newark) Reference: G1201.F9M25 1989

Historical Dictionary of United States Political Parties
Alexander Reference: JK2261.B345 2000

Justices of the United States Supreme Court (5 vols.)
Alexander, Camden, and Dana (Newark) Reference: KF8744.F75

Media and Politics in America: A Reference Handbook
Camden Reference: P95.82.U6S74 2003
Alexander Stacks: P95.82.U6S74 2003

National Party Conventions, 1831-1996
Alexander Reference: JK2255.N377 1997
Camden and Dana (Newark) Stacks: JK2255.N377 1997

Origins and Development of Congress
Dana (Newark) Reference: JK1021.O74 1982
Camden Stacks: JK1021.O74 1982

Party Leaders in Congress, 1789-2002: Vital Statistics and Biographical Sketches
Alexander Reference: JK1041.P37 2002

Presidential Also-rans and Running Mates, 1788 through 1996
Alexander, Douglass, Carr, and Dana (Newark) Reference: E175.1.S695 1998

The Presidents: A Reference History
Alexander, Camden, and Dana (Newark) reference: E176.1.P918 1996

The Presidents, First Ladies, and Vice Presidents: White House Biographies, 1789-1997
Alexander, Camden, and Dana (Newark) Reference: E176.1.D548 1997

The Reader's Companion to the American Presidency
Alexander Reference: E176.1.R295 2000
Camden Stacks: E176.1.R295 2000

A Reference Guide to the United States Supreme Court
Dana (Newark) Reference: KF8742.R45 1986

The Supreme Court Justices: Illustrated Biographies, 1789-1995
Alexander and Dana (Newark) Reference: KF8744.S86 1995
Camden Stacks: KF8744.S86 1995

U.S. Presidential Candidates and the Elections: A Biographical and Historical Guide (2 vols.)
Alexander Reference: JK528.H38 1996

British and American History and Political Science Librarian - New Brunswick

Tom Glynn's picture
Tom Glynn
Contact:
Alexander Library
Rutgers University
169 College Ave.
New Brunswick, NJ
(848) 932-6105

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.