Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

American History Research Guide: Military (see also Civil War and Revolutionary War)

Military

American Military History: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources
Alexander Reference Z1249.M5B58 1995

The Encyclopedia of American Intelligence and Espionage: from the Revolutionary War to the Present
Alexander and Camden Reference: UB271.U5O85 1988

Encyclopedia of the American Military: Studies of the History, Traditions, Policies, Institutions, and Roles of the Armed Forces in War and Peace (3 vols.)
Alexander, Camden, and Dana (Newark) Reference: UA23.E56 1994

Encyclopedia of the War of 1812
Alexander and Camden Reference: E354.H46 1997

Historical Dictionary of the United States Air Force and its Antecedents
Alexander Reference: UG633.T423 1999

Historical Dictionary of the United States Marine Corps
Alexander Reference: VE23.G35 1998

Historical Dictionary of the United States Navy
Alexander Reference: V23.M66 1998

Historical Dictionary of the U.S. Army
Alexander and Camden Reference: UA25.H67 2001

Naval Institute Historical Atlas of the U.S. Navy
Alexander Reference: G1201.S1S8 1995

The Official Chronology of the U.S. Navy in World War II
Camden Reference: D773.C74 2000
Alexander Stacks: D773.C74 2000

On the Trail of the Buffalo Soldier: Biographies of African Americans in the U.S. Army, 1866-1917
Alexander Reference: U52.O5 1995

Order of Battle, U.S. Army, World War II
Alexander and Dana (Newark) Reference: UA25.S767 1984

The Oxford Companion to American Military History
Alexander and Camden Reference: E181.O94 1999

Register of Ships of the U.S. Navy, 1775-1990: Major Combatants
Alexander Reference: VA61.B36 1991

U.S. Military Records: A Guide to Federal and State Sources, Colonial America to the Present
Camden Reference: E181.N43 1994

The United States Army, a Historical Dictionary
Alexander Reference and Camden Reference: UA25.N48 2002

The United States Marine Corps
Camden and Dana (Newark) Reference: VE23.D65

War and American Popular Culture: A Historical Encyclopedia
Alexander and Camden Reference: E181.W26 1999

The War of 1898, and U.S. Interventions, 1898-1934: An Encyclopedia
Alexander, Camden, and Carr Reference: E745.W37 1994

Webster's American Military Biographies
Alexander Reference: U52.W4

The West Point Atlas of American Wars (2 vols.)
Camden, and Dana (Newark) Reference: G1201.S1U5 1959
Douglass and Carr Folio: G1201.S1U5 1959

Women in the United States Military, 1901-1995: A Research Guide and Annotated Bibliography
Camden and Douglass Reference: UB418.W65F75 1996

British and American History and Political Science Librarian - New Brunswick

Tom Glynn's picture
Tom Glynn
Contact:
Alexander Library
Rutgers University
169 College Ave.
New Brunswick, NJ
(848) 932-6105

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.