Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

American History Research Guide: Civil War

Civil War

The Abraham Lincoln Encyclopedia
Alexander and Dana Reference: E457.N48
Camden Stacks: E457.N48

The American Civil War: A Handbook of Literature and Research
Alexander and Camden Reference: Z1242.A47 1996
Douglass Stacks: Z1242.A47 1996

The Atlas of the Civil War
Alexander Reference: G1201.S5A85 1994

Biographical Dictionary of the Confederacy
Alexander, Douglass, Carr, and Dana (Newark) Reference: E467.W2

Biographical Dictionary of the Union: Northern Leaders of the Civil War
Alexander and Dana (Newark) Reference: E467.B56 1995

Civil War A to Z: The Complete Handbook of America's Bloodiest Conflict
Alexander Reference: E468.C59 2002

The Civil War Almanac
Alexander and Dana (Newark) Reference: E468.3.B68 1983

The Civil War Dictionary
Alexander, Camden, Douglass, Carr, and Dana (Newark) Reference: E468.B7

Civil War Eyewitnesses: An Annotated Bibliography of Books and Articles, 1986-1996
Camden Reference: Z1242.C7 2000
Alexander Stacks: Z1242.C7 2000

Civil War Eyewitnesses: An Annotated Bibliography of Books and Articles, 1955-1986
Camden Reference: Z1242.C78 1988
Alexander Stacks: Z1242.C78 1988

Encyclopedia of Civil War Biographies (3 vols.)
Alexander Reference: E467.E53 2000

Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: a Political, Social, and Military History (5 vols.)
Alexander and Camden Reference

Encyclopedia of Civil War Biographies (3 vols.)
Alexander Reference: E467.E53 2000

Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: a Political, Social, and Military History (5 vols.)
Alexander and Camden Reference: E468.H47 2000

Generals in Gray: Lives of the Confederate Commanders
Alexander Reference: E467.W3
Alexander and Camden Stacks: E467.W3

Guide to Federal Archives Relating to the Civil War
Dana (Newark) and Special Collections Reference: CD3047.M8

Historical Dictionary of the Civil War (2 vols.)
Alexander and Camden Reference: E468.J777 2002

The Library of Congress Civil War Desk Reference
Alexander Reference: E468.L58 2002
Camden Stacks: E468.L58 2002

The Official Atlas of the Civil War
Camden Reference: E464.U616
Alexander Atlas Case #3

The Official Military Atlas of the Civil War
Alexander and Camden Reference: G1201.S5U6 1978

A User's Guide to the Official Records of the American Civil War
Alexander, Alexander Special Collections, and Dana (Newark) Reference: E464.A35

The West Point Atlas of the Civil War
Alexander Reference: G1201.S5U58 1962

Women during the Civil War: An Encyclopedia
Alexander and Douglass Reference: E628.H37 2004

British and American History and Political Science Librarian - New Brunswick

Tom Glynn's picture
Tom Glynn
Contact:
Alexander Library
Rutgers University
169 College Ave.
New Brunswick, NJ
(848) 932-6105

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.