Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

American History Research Guide: Reference Books

General Reference Titles for North American History

The American Heritage Encyclopedia of American History
Alexander Reference: E174.A535 1998

American History Sourcebook [directory of museums, historical societies, etc., by state]
Alexander Reference: Z1236.A5144 1988

American History: The New York Public Library Book of Answers
Douglass Reference: E178.25.C68 1993

American National Biography (24 vols. & supplements)
Alexander, Camden, and Dana (Newark) Reference: CT213.A68 1999

C.R.I.S.: The Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History, 1838-1974 (11 vols.)
Alexander Reference: AI3.C16
Camden Reference: Z6205.C18
Douglass Stacks: D1.C18 1977

This Day in American History
Alexander Reference: E174.5.G76 2001

Dictionary of American Biography (20 vols., supplements through 1980)
Camden, Douglass, Special Collections Reference: E176.D56
Alexander Reference: E176.D561
Alexander Stacks: E176.D563

Dictionary of American History (10 vols.)
Alexander and Camden Reference: E174.D52 2003

Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the United States
Alexander and Camden Reference: CD3020.D49 1988

Directory of Historical Agencies the United States and Canada
Alexander and Camden Reference: E172.A53

Directory of History Departments and Organizations in the United States and Canada
Alexander Reference: D16.3.G83

Directory of Oral History Collections
Alexander and Dana (Newark) Reference: Z6208.O7S54 1988

Encyclopedia of American History
Alexander, Carr, and Dana (Newark) Reference: E174.5.M847
Douglass Stacks: E174.5.M847 1976

The Great American History Fact-Finder: the Who, What, Where, When, and Why of American History
Alexander Reference: E174.C67 2004

Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States (3 vols.)
Alexander, Camden, and Dana (Newark) Reference: CD3026 1995
Camden Stacks: CD3026 1995
Alexander Government Documents Reference: AE 1.108:G94

A Guide to Manuscripts Relating to American History in British Depositories
Alexander Reference: Z1236.U58LG
Dana (Newark) Stacks: Z1236.U58LG

Handbook for Research in American History: A Guide to Bibliographies and Other Reference Works
Alexander and Camden Reference: Z1236.P78 1994

Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970 (2 vols.)
Alexander Desk, Alexander Government Documents, Camden, Douglass, Carr, LSM, and Dana (Newark) Reference: HA202.B87
Online: http://www2.census.gov/prod2/statcomp/documents/CT1970p1-01.pdf

The New York Public Library American History Desk Reference
Alexander Reference: E174.5.N47 2003

The Oxford Companion to United States History
Alexander and Camden Reference: E174.O94 2001
Carr and Dana (Newark) Reference: E174.J6
Douglass Stacks: E174.J6

The Peopling of America: A Timeline of Events that Helped Shape our Nation: A Historical Perspective
Alexander and Douglass Reference: E184.A1K84 1996

The Reader's Companion to American History
Alexander, Camden, and Carr Reference: E174.R43 1991

Reader's Guide to American History
Alexander and Camden Reference: Z1236.R43 1997

United States History: A Multicultural, Interdisciplinary Guide to Information Sources
Alexander Reference: Z1236.P45 2003
Camden Reference: E178.P47 2003

Webster's Guide to American History: A Chronological, Geographical, and Biographical Survey and Compendium
Alexander, Camden, Carr, and Dana (Newark) Reference: E174.5.W4

Writings on American History (annual: 1902-1962)
Alexander, Camden, Douglass, and Dana (Newark) Reference: Z1236.W956

British and American History and Political Science Librarian - New Brunswick

Tom Glynn's picture
Tom Glynn
Contact:
Alexander Library
Rutgers University
169 College Ave.
New Brunswick, NJ
(848) 932-6105

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.