Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

British History Research Guide: Dictionaries

Dictionaries

Columbia Companion to British History
Alexander Reference: DA34.H64 1997 Camden Stacks: DA34.H64 1997

Companion to British History
Alexander Reference: DA34.A76 2001

Companion to Irish History, 1603-1921
Alexander Reference: DA912.N485 1991

Companion to Scottish History: From the Reformation to the Present
Alexander Reference: DA757.9.D68 1989

Companion to the Industrial Revolution
Camden Reference: HC254.5.L72 1990

Concise Dictionary of Modern Place-Names in Great Britain and Ireland
Dana (Newark) Reference: DA645.R66 1983

Dictionary of British History
Alexander Reference: DA34.D52

Dictionary of British History, 1815-1973
Alexander and Douglass Reference: DA529.H83

Dictionary of British Place-Names
Alexander Reference: DA645.M544 2003

Dictionary of English Weights and Measures: From Anglo-Saxon Times to the Nineteenth Century
Alexander, Dana (Newark) and LSM Reference: QC82.Z8 Camden Stacks: QC82.Z8

Dictionary of Irish History since 1800
Dana (Newark) Reference: DA949.7.H53 1980

Dictionary of Medieval Terms and Phrases
Alexander Reference: DA129.C67 2004

Historical Dictionary of Ireland
Alexander and Camden Reference: DA910.T39 1997

Historical Dictionary of Late Medieval England, 1272-1485
Alexander and Camden Reference: DA175.H56 2002

Historical Dictionary of Stuart England, 1603-1689
Alexander and Camden Reference: DA375.H57 1996

Historical Dictionary of the British and Irish Civil Wars, 1637-1660
Alexander and Camden Reference: DA405.B344 2000

Historical Dictionary of the United Kingdom (2 vols.)
Alexander Reference: DA34.P36 1998

Historical Dictionary of Tudor England, 1485-1603
Alexander Reference: DA315.H5 1991

History Today Companion to British History
Alexander Reference: DA34.H64 1997 Camden Stacks: DA34.H64 1997

New Dictionary of British History
Alexander, Douglass, and Carr Reference: DA34.S74

Oxford Companion to British History
Alexander, Camden, and Dana (Newark) Reference: DA34.O93 Alexander Stacks: DA34.O93

Oxford Companion to Irish History
Alexander Reference: DA912.O94 1998 Camden Stacks: DA912.O94 2002

Oxford Companion to Scottish History
Alexander Reference: DA757.9.O94 2001

Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century British Politics
Alexander and Camden Reference: DA566.7.O88 2002

Oxford Dictionary of British History
Alexander Reference: DA34.D49 2001

Politico's Guide to the History of British Political Parties
Alexander Reference: JN1117.B66 2001

Steinberg's Dictionary of British History
Alexander Reference: DA34.S7 1970

Victorian Culture and Society: The Essential Glossary
Alexander Reference: DA533.R62 2003

Where Queen Victoria Slept & What the Butler Saw: Historical Terms from the Sixteenth Century to the Present
Alexander Reference: PE1667.D87 1997

British and American History and Political Science Librarian - New Brunswick

Tom Glynn's picture
Tom Glynn
Contact:
Alexander Library
Rutgers University
169 College Ave.
New Brunswick, NJ
(848) 932-6105

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.