Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

British History Research Guide: Bibliographies

Bibliographies

Bibliography of English History to 1485: Based on the Sources and Literature of English History from the Earliest Times to about 1485
Alexander, Camden, Dana (Newark), Douglass Reference: Z2017.B5 Alexander Stacks: Z2017.B5

Bibliography of British History, 1914-1989
Alexander Reference: Z2020.R63 1996

Bibliography of the History of Wales
Alexander reference: Z2081.W229

Bibliotheca Bibliographica Britannica, or. Biographies in British History; A Manual of Bibliographies of Bibliography, and of Bibliographies (7 vols.)
Alexander Reference: Z2016.B45

British Military History: A Supplement to Robin Higham's Guide to the Sources
Dana (Newark) Reference: DA50.H54 1971 suppl.

British Periodical & Newspapers, 1789-1832: A Bibliography of Secondary Sources
Alexander, Camden, Dana (Newark) Reference: Z6956.G6W37 Alexander Stacks: Z6956.G6W37

British Women's History: A Bibliographical Guide
Alexander, Camden, and Douglass Reference: HQ1593.H36 1996

Great Britain: A Reference Guide from the Renaissance to the Present
Alexander Reference: Z2016.T66 2003

Guide to the Sources of British Military History
Alexander and and Camden Reference: Z2021.M5H54 Dana (Newark) Reference: DA50.H54 1971 Alexander Stacks: Z2021.M5H54

History: A Reference Handbook
Alexander Reference: Z2016.D38 1977

Kings of Medieval England, c. 560-1485: A Survey and Research Guide
Alexander Reference: Z2021.K55U85 1996

Local Record Sources in Print and in Progress, 1971-1972
Alexander Reference: Z2023.Y68

Manuscript Sources for the History of Irish Civilization (11 vols.)
Alexander Reference: Z2041.D45

Medieval Cartularies of Great Britain: a Short Catalogue
Alexander Reference: Z2018.D37

Parliament of Great Britain: A Bibliography
Alexander and Dana (Newark) Reference: JN508.G57 1983

Reader's Guide to British History (2 vols.)
Alexander and Camden Reference: DA34.R43 2003

Restoration England, 1660-1689
Alexander, Camden, and Douglass Reference: Z2018.S3

Romano-British Bibliography, 55 B.C.- A.D. 449 (2 vols.)
Alexander Reference: Z2017.B65

Royal Historical Society Bibliography on CD-ROM: The History of Britain, Ireland, and the British Overseas [works publised 1901-1992]
Permanently installed in Alexander reference room- ask at reference desk. Guide at Alexander Reference: Z2002.R69 1998.

Select Bibliography for the Study, Sources, and Literature of English Medieval Economic History
Alexander Reference: Z2018.H23 1960

Sources for English Local History
Alexander Reference: Z2023.S8 1981

Texts and Calendars: An Analytical Guide to Serial Publications
Alexander Reference: Z2016.M8

Tudor England, 1485-1603
Alexander, Camden, and Douglass Reference: Z2017.5.L4

Women, 1870-1928: A Select Guide to Printed and Archival Sources in the United Kingdom
Alexander and Douglass Reference: HQ1595.B37 1981

Women in English Social History, 1800-1914 (3 vols.)
Alexander Reference: Z7964.G7K36 1987 Douglass Reference: HQ1593.K36 1987 (vols. 1-2) Douglass Stacks: HQ1593.K36 1987 (vols. 1-2)

Women and the British Empire: An Annotated Guide to Sources
Alexander, Dana (Newark), and Douglass Reference: Z7964.G7B34 1983 Douglass Stacks: Z7964.G7B34 1983

Women in Ireland: An Annotated Bibliography
Alexander, Dana (Newark), and Douglass Reference: Z7964.I73B7 1988

Writings on British History [annual: 1901-1974]
Alexander and Dana (Newark) Reference: DA30.W74 Douglass Reference: Z2016.R88 Alexander Stacks and SOC: Z2016.W74

British and American History and Political Science Librarian - New Brunswick

Tom Glynn's picture
Tom Glynn
Contact:
Alexander Library
Rutgers University
169 College Ave.
New Brunswick, NJ
(848) 932-6105

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.