Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Political Science Research Guide: Citing & Managing Sources

Citation Managers

Many databases allow you to export citations from your search results to a citation manager. A citation manager lets you save all of your research in one place, keep it well organized and easily accessible. And when it comes time to type your paper, the better citation managers let you select citations you saved in your account and then automatically formats them in both your footnotes and bibliography.

To export citations from America: History & Life, or any EBSCO database (look for EBSCO in the upper left of the screen), first click the folder icon next to an article citation that you want to export, then click the folder icon at the top of the screen, then click Export on the right. In a ProQuest database (look for ProQuest in the upper left), check off the boxes next to  the article citations you want to export, then click the ... icon, then click RefWorks, EndNote, Noodle Tools or EasyBib.

I think RefWorks is a good citation manager, pretty easy to use, with lots of advanced functions. But you have a number of options. Zotero is very popular with many historians. Pick one you're most comfortable with. Most are free and will save you time in the long run. Just make sure to double check the citations the citation manager produces. Citation managers are not infallible.

If you have questions about citation managers, see this brief video or click Email Me.

APA Citations

Political scientists generally use the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA Style) in citing sources, in-text notes and bibliography. We have several print copies of the most current edition. You may also want to try the OWL site at Purdue University, an easy-to-use guide to APA.

Many of the databases will create an APA bibliography citation for you. Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is an ProQuest database. If you see ProQuest in the upper left of any database, simply click the " icon in the brief or the full record of an article. In QuickSearch, also click the " icon. Similarly, for any EBSCO database, if you see EBSCO in the upper left, click the title of an article in your search results to see the full record, then click Cite on the right.

To use a citation manager to save and organize your research and automatically generate both your in-text citations and bibliography, see the Citation Managers box.

Tom Glynn, Political Science Librarian- New Brunswick

Tom Glynn's picture
Tom Glynn
Contact:
Alexander Library
Rutgers University
169 College Ave.
New Brunswick, NJ
(848) 932-6105

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.