Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

English Composition: V for Vendetta (21:355:102): Other Research

This course guide was created specifically for Instructor Mary Kate Costa-Matthew's Spring 2019 ENG 102 class.

General Research

Please see the boxes below for databases where you may search for information not necesssarily related to English literature.

ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection

The ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection indexes over 10,000 titles in the social sciences, the majority of which are published outside of the United States. It includes 10 social science sub-collections.

 

Search Tips:


1)  Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following terms to be helpful:

·         dystopia

·         anarchism (SU All subjects & indexing) 

·         "nuclear weapons" (SU All subjects & indexing) 

·         terrorism (SU All subjects & indexing) 

·         "Guy Fawkes"

·         resistance movement

·         "hero's journey"

 

2)  Note that you can combine different terms using the Advanced Search option, such as:

·         fascism (SU All subjects & indexing) AND "Great Britain"

·         power (SU All subjects & indexing) AND corruption (SU All subjects & indexing) 

PAIS International

PAIS International provides coverage of public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. It includes two databases, PAIS International and PAIS Archive. Major areas of coverage include:

  • Economic conditions
  • Education
  • Energy resources and policy
  • Government
  • Health conditions
  • Human rights
  • International relations
  • Labor conditions and policy
  • Politics
  • Social conditions,
  • Civil rights movement

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database with full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

 

Search Tips:


1)  Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following terms to be helpful:

  • dystopias (SU Subjects Terms)
  • fascism (SU Subjects Terms)
  • anarchis* (SU Subjects Terms)
  • "nuclear warfare" (SU Subjects Terms)
  • "nuclear weapons" SU Subjects Terms)
  • revenge SU Subjects Terms)
  • vendetta (SU Subjects Terms)
  • "concentration camps" SU Subjects Terms)
  • "Guy Fawkes"
  • "Guy Fawkes Day" (SU Subjects Terms)
  • resistance movement
  • "hero* journey"

 

2)  Note that you can combine different terms using the Advanced Search option, such as:

·         "Great Britain" AND 1980s AND politic*

·         hero AND villain

·         identity  AND conflict

·         power AND corruption

Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts is a comprehensive bibliography for material on the history of the world from 1450 to the present. It covers all countries and regions, excluding the United States and Canada (for those countries, see America: History and Life). Coverage includes historical and related social science literature. A special emphasis is placed upon the inclusion of English-language journal and book titles published throughout the world. Each year over 1,700 journal titles published worldwide in over 40 languages are scanned for articles of interest to historians and key English-language history and review journals are examined for books related to historical study. In all, over 20,000 new abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations are added to the database annually.

Historical Abstracts is an excellent resource for a variety of disciplines including multicultural studies, sociology, psychology, women's studies/gender studies, religion, anthropology, political science, history of science, economics, business, education, music, art, and law.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.