Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

English Composition: V for Vendetta (21:355:102): English Literature Research

This course guide was created specifically for Instructor Mary Kate Costa-Matthew's Spring 2019 ENG 102 class.

English Literature Research

Please see the boxes below for databases in which you may search for topics related to English literature.

Literature Online (LION)

Literature Online (LION) allows full-text searching of 350 literature journals, as well as other criticism and reference resources.

 

Search Tips:

 

Under "Criticism," search "All Criticism:"

·         Title keywords: V for Vendetta

Literature Resource Center (LRC)

Literature Resource Center (LRC) is a full-text database covering more than 124,000 authors.  In addition to critical analysis of authors and their works, biographies and bibliographies are also included.

 

(Advanced) Search Tips:


1)  Consider searching by "Name of Work":

·         V for Vendetta

 

2)  Consider searching by "Person - By or About":

·         Alan Moore

 

3)  Note that you can also combine different terms using the Advanced Search option, such as:

·         V for Vendetta (Name of Work) AND Alan Moore (Person-By or About)
 

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography includes 2 million citations drawn from 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.  It covers criticism and scholarship on literature from around the world.

 

Search Tips:


Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following to be very helpful:

·         "V for Vendetta"

·         Moore AND "V for Vendetta"

·         hero AND villain

·         "hero's journey"

·         identity AND conflict

 

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.