Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free articles for Rutgers students!
As a Rutgers student, you generally do not have to pay to get the full-text of an article. If Rutgers does not own or subscribe to it, request the article through interlibrary loan. Just be sure to try the following methods first...
How to locate the full-text of articles
With the many online and print journals that Rutgers University Libraries subscribes to, it is very likely we have the full-text of the article you need.
If you are searching for articles within our indexes/databases, here are the steps to take:
A. Within many of our library databases, you may find that the full-text of articles is available either in PDF format or HTML format. In that case, simply click on the Adobe Acrobat PDF icon or HTML link.
B. If the full-text of an article is not available through that particular database:
- Click on or a "Get Full Text" link and our link resolver may take you directly to the full-text of the article within another Rutgers-subscribed database.
- If you see an intermediary screen instead, click on the "Request it here and we'll get it for you!" link. You will need to log in with your NetID and password. Confirm that the auto-populated information is correct, then click the "Submit Request" button. [Note: If this is the first time you are using the Article Delivery/Interlibrary Loan system, you will need to complete the Registration Form first.]
If you are trying to locate an article for which you already have a citation, here are the steps to take:
A. Search for the journal title under the "Journals" tab on the Libraries homepage: www.libraries.rutgers.edu
- If you see the appropriate journal title listed, click on it. On the next screen, click on the journal title again. Scroll down and take a look at the date ranges listed under "Holdings."
- If there is a link under the Online Access section that includes the date when the article in question was published, click on that link. [Note: An embargo means a delay in access, so a 6 month embargo means we do not have access to the most recent 6 months of the publication.] On the following screen, you may be able to search for the article title, or you may need to find the full listing of past issues and locate the appropriate volume and issue number to find the full-text article.
- If online access is not available for the article in question, continue to scroll down to determine whether the John Cotton Dana Library has it in print in the Periodicals section. If so, visit the lower level to find the full-text article. Journals are arranged alphabetically and then chronologically downstairs.
- When there is no online access and Dana Library does not own the flul-text article in print, click on Article Delivery. You will need to log in with your NetID and password and then follow the steps listed below. [Note: If this is the first time you are using the Article Delivery/Interlibrary Loan system, you will need to complete the Registration Form first.]
- If you do not see the journal listed, request it via Article Delivery: https://www.rulill.rutgers.edu/illiad/RULILL/logon.html
- Along the left panel, under the New Request section, click on Article Request
- Although only the areas marked with an asterisk(*) are required, it is recommended that you fill in as much information as possible.
- Click the Submit Request button
- Remember to Logoff (see the upper-left corner) when you are finished.
Scholarly articles may be freely available through non-traditional means:
- Some publishers (including the American Chemical Society) are making certain articles available free of charge; others are allowing authors to pay an additional fee to make their specific article in a hybrid journal Open Access.
- Many universities and some colleges now have institutional repositories where authors may deposit scholarly articles freely viewable by all. Similarly, there are subject repositories offering authors the same option. Keep in mind, however, that the versions available through these repositories may not necessarily be the final, published ones; but they may be post-prints that are very close to the published version.
Therefore, if the Rutgers University Libraries does not subscribe to a journal, before requesting it via interlibrary loan, consider Googling the article title on the off-chance that the article is immediately available through alternative means.