Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

English 102 : Station Eleven: Journal articles

designed to help Professor Loo's English 102 class with their research assignment

Getting to appropriate indexes and databases

In class, we used three databases to look for appropriate articles for your prompt.  To get to the list of databases for literature, please click on the View All Databases link under the dialog box on the Libraries’ home page (libraries.rutgers.edu)

 

On the Indexes and Databases page, go to the Subject listing and select Arts and Humanities.  On the next screen, click on Literature in General.  You’ll see a list of databases about literature to choose from.

Using Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center  (https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes/lrc)

The Literature Resource Center (LRC) is a full-text electronic database that provides on-line access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors and their works from every age and literary discipline. Literature Resource Center covers more than 124,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. Searchable fields include: Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement, and Literary Themes.

Using Academic Search Premier and MLA Bibliography

Academic Search Premier  (https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes/asp)

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

MLA International Bibliography (https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes/mla)

The MLA International Bibliography indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, and the teaching of language and literature in journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials. It includes more than 2,000,000 citations drawn from 4,400 journals and series and from 1000 book publishers. Indexing of e-journals, online bibliographies, electronic monographs, and scholarly Web sites is now included.

Both databases are produced by EBSCO so the search engines are the same.  The content, however, is unique to each database.  The following brief tutorial will help you search either database.

Using EBSCOhost Mobile

Planning to use your smart phone to do your research?  Go to https://m.libraries.rutgers.edu/  and scroll down the list of options to Mobile Databases.  You will see the database listing by subject (Arts and Humanities is first) with an option to select databases by title.

 

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.