Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases are composed of thousands of journals. When you find a good journal you may want to browse the most recent issue to see what the current trends are in the field.
Due to some licensing agreements some recent articles are not available in full-text online. However, most can be requested through Get it @ R.
JAMA - Journal of the American Medical Association
JAMA, published continuously since 1883, is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal.
NJEM - The New England Journal of Medicine
Published continuously for over 200 years, NEJM delivers high-quality, peer-reviewed research and interactive clinical content to physicians, educators, and the global medical community.
JAAPA - Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants
JAAPA is the peer-reviewed clinical journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA). Published for more than 25 years, its mission is to support the ongoing education and advancement of physician assistants (PAs) by publishing current information and research on clinical, health policy, and professional issues.
The most comprehensive database for the biomedical sciences.
ClinicalKey provides information to clinical health care providers via an aggregated content service. It provides full-text access to over 500 Elsevier journals, 1,000 e-books, and 9,000 medical and procedural videos.
CINAHL provides comprehensive coverage of the nursing and allied health journal literature. English language publications in nursing and allied health are indexed completely. In addition to journals, CINAHL includes citations for nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, health related books, educational software, and the publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Journals in the related subjects of consumer health, alternate/complementary medicine, biomedicine, and health sciences librarianship are indexed selectively.
PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Mobile App Options
Many databases like PubMed and Clinicalkay above are also available as an app for your mobile device. This link takes you to the page where you can learn how to get the app and see what other tools are available.
You can get more articles from google scholar if you access it through the library website.
More Health Science Databases
The complete collection of our online Health Science databases.
Point-of-Care and Visual Databases
A "Just-In-Time" clinical reference tool integrating evidence based medicine with practical information for clinical practice on more than 3,200 clinical topics.
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. As well as research evidence we also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
In addition to the e-textbook content, UpToDate contains information on drugs/drug interactions, a library of images and videos, standard medical calculators and decision tools, “practice changing” current information, and training resources.
VisualDX is a differential diagnosis decision support tool, designed to be used at the point-of-care. It contains peer-reviewed information. If you are not ready it can get kinda gross.
Predatory Publishing Guide
Coined by Jeffrey Beall, a librarian at the Auraria Library, University of Denver, the term "predatory publishing" refers to a questionable business practice of charging fees to authors to publish their articles without standard editorial and publishing services provided by legitimate scholarly journals. This goes goes in-depth into the world of predatory publishing.
Grey Literature Guide
Grey Literature is defined as "information produced on all levels of government, academia, business and industry in electronic and print formats not controlled by commercial publishing." This guide provides some helpful information on identifying and finding grey literature in the field.