Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Black Studies: Interdisciplinary Archival Research: Gender and Sexuality Collections

Private Thoughts

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries. Letters and Diaries in the collection of the American Antiquarian Society. Date coverage is approximately 1750-1950; particularly strong in nineteenth century material. Rutgers-restricted Access

North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial Times to 1950. Published and unpublished letters and diaries, journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings. Rutgers-restricted Access

Immigration

Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930. Online collection of approximately 2,200 books and pamphlets as well as 7,800 photographs, 200 maps and 9,600 pages from Harvard manuscript and archival collections. Emphasis on 19th century materials. An amazing resource!

Violence Against Women

Violence Against Women - Federal Legislation and Regulations
From the Justice Department's Office on Violence Against Women.

Need Published Collections of Primary Source Materials?

Search the Rutgers Catalog (and other library catalogs) using the subject keywords and the word "sources." For example

interracial marriage sources
gay liberation movement sources

You can also modify your subject search with these subject keywords: "archives," "correspondence," "diaries," "interviews," "personal narratives," or "memoirs." For example

african americans correspondence
transsexuals interviews

Collections

Gender Issues and Sexuality: Essential Primary Sources
Reproduction (or excerpts) of primary sources--mostly American or British--relating to gender and sexuality. Includes introduction to the topic as well as a section on the significance of the source.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Books, images, essays, and primary documents organized around "document projects" that pose a question relating to the role of women in U.S. social movements. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Women Working, 1800-1930
Approximately 650,000 digitized pages and nearly 1,500 images images, including 3,000 pages of manuscripts and personal papers, and 7,000 pages of institutional records; more than 3,100 individually cataloged books, magazines, and trade catalogs; and well over 1,400 photographs. From the Harvard University Library Open Collections Program.
A Guide to the Microfilm Edition of the Records of the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor, 1918-1965: Part 1, Reports of the Director, Annual Summaries, Major Conferences, Speeches and Articles
Edited by Dale Grinder. Frederick, MD., University Publications of America, Inc. 1986.
Reel guide and subject index. Among the subject included are "Negro Women Workers." Reels available for interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
The Gay Rights Movement:1951-1975: Mattachine Society of New York, Inc.
Woodbridge, Conn., Research Publications, 1998.
24 microfilm reels; archives of the Mattachine Society of New York. Index to the microfilm collection
Alexander Call Number: M-FILM 2789
The Gay Rights Movement: 1970-1983: Gay Activists Alliance.
Woodbridge, Conn., Research Publications, 1998.
21 microfilm reels; archives of the Gay Activiists Alliance. Index to the microfilm collection.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.