Black Studies: Interdisciplinary Archival Research

ArchiveGrid

Index to archival collection descriptions and finding aids. Rutgers-restricted Access

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index

The most comprehensive source for English language material printed in the 19th Century. Includes bibliographic access to 71,000 archival collections. Rutgers-restricted Access

Worldcat

Union catalog of over 179 million bibliographic records for titles owned by libraries that participate in/contribute to OCLC. As part of "Advanced Search" allows you to limit your search to "archival materials". (Rutgers-restricted Access)

New Jersey Historical Society.

The New Jersey Historical Society in Newark has a rich collection of archival and other materials relating to the political, social, cultural and economic history of New Jersey. You can search or browse the Finding Aids to NJHS collections.

Princeton University Findings Aids

Over 1700 finding aids from the Princeton Department of Rare Books and Special Collections. The Department of Rare Books and Special Collections includes the Manuscripts Division (housed at Firestone Library) and the Princeton University Archives and Public Policy Papers (housed at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library).

Manuscript Collections in the Rutgers University Libraries

Finding Aids to a variety of collections.

New York Public Library Archives and Manuscripts Catalog

Search the Archives and Manuscripts collections included in the New York Public Library catalog. To search the full text of archival collections descriptions search AMAT, the Archival Materials Access Tool.

Archival Finding Aids Hosted at New York University

Search across finding aids for collections in the Fales Library & Special Collections (NYU); the Tamiment Library and Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives; New York University Archives; and the New York Historical Society.

Columbia University Archival Collections Portal

Descriptions and finding aids for more than 3,500 archival collections in six Columbia University Libraries repositories. These collections include personal papers, institutional records, corporate archives, architectural drawings, printed ephemera, and many other types of content.

The Newark Archives Project

The Newark Archives Project is creating detailed descriptions of primary materials relating to Newark that are available in repositories in Newark and elsewhere. The collections described include papers of individuals and families; records of government agencies, organizations, and businesses; photographs and film; audio collections; and more. A wonderful, and growing, resource for finding archival materials on Newark!

The Internet Archive

In addition to some some 3 million public domain books, the Internet Archive also archives websites, software, games, music, and a variety of moving images. Among the many things you can find in this amazingly rich collection:

A Television Archive News Search Service

Old Time Radio shows

Gender Talk, "the leading worldwide weekly radio program that talks about transgenderism in the first person."

A digitized collection of Microfilm

Film Noir, a collection of crime dramas from the 1940s and 50s.

Understanding 9/11, 3,000 hours of international TV news from 20 channels over 7 days.