Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Residential Racial Segregation in the U.S.: Causes and Consequences: Finding Data

PolicyMap

PolicyMap allows you to download and map data relating to demographics, housing, income, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, manufacturing, supermarket access, and more. Includes data sets from over 150 public and proprietary sources

City of Newark Open Data

City of Newark Open Data. Open portal for depositing data relating to Newark. Everything from abandoned properties, absenteeism and graduation rates, Newark building footprints, and census tract job data to GPS snow plow locations, 4311 (non-emergency service) calls by neighborhood, turnstile data, and ward maps.

Database

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets. Access to data from more than 70 organizational sources. Most data series focus on recent years and a few prior decades, although some data series extend back to the 19th century. Rutgers-restricted Access

Basic Stats

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
The basic databook for the United States. Primarily national-level statistics, but includes selected data for states and major cities.
Statistical Abstract of the United States: 1878-2012
State of the Cities Data Systems
Data on 542 central cities and 10,744 metropolitan suburban places. In addition to demographic, employment, and business data, the SOCDS also contains data on high tech jobs in cities, suburbs, and metropolitan areas, as well as house values and rents, and crime rates. "Fast Look" option allows user to view data tables for one or more selected cities. The SOCDS also includes Comprehensive Housing Affordability Strategy (CHAS) data showing housing problems and the availability of affordable housing for states, counties, and places, as well as Urban Finance data (public expenditures, revenues, and employees) for cities and metropolitan areas.

Residential Segregation

Diversity and Disparities: Residential Segregation
Calculate degrees of residential segregation, 1980-2010 for cities and metropolitan statistical areas (MSAs). Part of the Diversity and Disparities Project at Brown University.
Racial and Ethnic Residential Segregation in the United States: 1980-2000
John Iceland, Daniel H. Weinberg, and Erika Steinmetz. Census 2000 Special Reports Washington, DC, August 2002.
Beyond Black and White: Metropolitan Residential Segregation in Multi-Ethnic America
John Iceland. Paper presented at the American Sociological Association Meetings, Chicago, Illinois, August 16-19, 2002.
"Large-Scale Urban Riots and Residential Segregation: A Case Study of the 1960s U.S. Riots"
Noli Brazil. Demography 53(2), April 2016, 567-595.
Uses 1960s U.S. race riot data to investigate trends in black residential segregation levels following large-scale riot activity in seven major U.S. cities, Newark, Baltimore, Chicago, Cleveland, Detroit, Los Angeles, and Washington, DC.. Rutgers-restricted Access

Crime and Justice

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
The most comprehensive compilation of data on all aspects of U.S. criminal justice. Most tables are reproduced exactly as they appeared in the original source, however, when possible latest data are combined with earlier data to show trends.
UCR [Uniform Crime Reports] Data Online
One of the two national measures of U.S. crime, the UCR is based on specific offenses reported to law enforcement agencies. This database lets you generate trends by state since 1960 and by local agency (usually a municipality) since 1985.
Arrest-Related Deaths, 2003-2009: Statistical Tables
Andrea M. Burch. Bureau of Justice Statistics. November 17, 2011.
Data on the circumstances of deaths that occur during, or shortly after, state or local law enforcement officers engage in an arrest or restraint process.
Police Behavior During Traffic and Street Stops, 2011
Lynn Langton, Matthew R. Durose. Bureau of Justice Statistics. September 24, 2013.
The characteristics and experiences of persons age 16 or older who were stopped by police during traffic and street stops, and their perceptions of police behavior and response during these encounters.
Police Use of Nonfatal Force, 2002-11
Shelley S. Hyland; Lynn Langton; and Elizabeth Davis. Bureau of Justice Statistics. November 14, 2015.
Data on the threat or use of nonfatal force by police against white, black, and Hispanic residents during police contact.
Fatal Force
The Washington Postdatabase of every fatal shooting in the United States by a police officer in the line of duty since Jan. 1, 2015, including location, race of the deceased, the circumstances of the shooting, whether the person was armed and whether the person was experiencing a mental-health crisis.
Federal Sentencing Statistics
Annual reports comparing federal sentencing statistics for each judicial district, judicial circuit, and state to the nation as a whole.

Food

What's in the Food You Eat Search Tool
Nutrient profiles for 13,000 foods commonly eaten in the U.S. From the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
Food Environment Atlas
From the Economic Research Service of the USDA. Currently includes 168 indicators of the food environment in 3 categories: Food Choices—Indicators of the community's access to and acquisition of healthy, affordable food; Health and Well-Being—Indicators of the community’s success in maintaining healthy diets; and Community Characteristics—Indicators of community characteristics that might influence the food environment.

Health

Use the New Jersey State Health Assessment Data (NJSHAD) database to generate Newark (or other) health statistics tables.
NJ Behavioral Risk Factor Survey Data Query.
Create customized tables of NJBRFS prevalence estimates for selected risk factors stratified by age, sex, race/ethnicity, nativity, marital status, education, employment status, and geographic area of residence (NJ counties, Newark, and Jersey City).
New Jersey Chartbook of Substance Abuse Related Social Indicators: Essex County
May, 2013.
Substance abuse related social and health indicators. Includes municipal data.
Childhood Lead Poisoning in New Jersey
Annual Report. Chapter 3 generally focuses on Newark, which continues to have the highest lead levels in children in the state.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.