Searching the Internet is an activity you probably feel pretty comfortable doing. However, when combining Internet searching with research for a paper, there are ways to improve your searching. Here are the key activities on this page:
Search Engines are software that uses “spiders,” “robots,” or “crawlers” to automatically search the World Wide Web. They then create database indexes of World Wide Web sites and pages using the terms, words, or full-text of documents visited by the automatons.
Example: Google Scholar
Search engine to peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles, academic publichers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities, and other scholarly organizations. Keep in mind not all academic or scholarly information is included. NOTE: You can set preferences in Google Scholar to export to RefWorks. To take advantage of this and links to full text available at Rutgers, you must be connected to the Rutgers network. Google Scholar is available under the Libraries' Indexes and Databases. Click here for an example of a Google Scholar Advanced Search for articles on privatization and colleges, which generates a list of results like this.
Use Google's Advanced Search option to search for web pages limited to a particular file type, domain, date, language, and geographic region. Click here for an example of a Google Advanced Search on privatization and colleges, which generates a list of results like this.
Examples of other Specialized Search Engines to free (open access) peer-reviewed, full-text articles in scholarly journals:
Meta-search Engines, also referred to as “meta-crawlers” or “multisearch engines, search several search engines at once.
Using the video and information provided on this page, answer the following questions in the attached document.
Subject-based Services or Virtual Libraries are services designed by librarians and/or subject experts with the aim of providing high quality sources of information. When browsing these websites, see Education.
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: email@example.com or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.