Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Play Therapy: Finding Systematic Reviews

What is Systematic Reviewing?

What is a systematic review?"
Overview from the Cochrane Consumer Network.

Evidence-Based Practice

Evidence-Based Practice. Jeffrey M. Jenson and Matthew O. Howard. Encyclopedia of Social Work. 2013. "Evidence-based practice (EBP) is an educational and practice paradigm that includes a series of predetermined steps aimed at helping practitioners and agency administrators identify, select, and implement efficacious interventions for clients. This entry identifies definitions of EBP and traces the evolution of EBP from its origins in the medical profession to its current application in social work."

Systematic Reviews

The Cochrane Library
Six databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. The Reviews assess the evidence for and against the effectiveness of specific healthcare interventions. Reviews include a summary of research results from random controlled trials, the group's meta-analysis, and links to references. Rutgers-restricted Access
PubMed Clinical Queries: Play Therapy
Searches the medical database and displays citations for systematic reviews, meta-analyses, reviews of clinical trials, evidence-based medicine, consensus development conferences, and guidelines.
National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices
Searchable database of interventions for the preventon and treatment of mental and substance use disorders from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).

Handbook

Handbook of Evidence-Based Treatment Manuels for Children and Adolescents
Craig Winston LeCroy. 2nd edition. New York, Oxford University Press, 2008. Rutgers-restricted Access

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.