Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

United States History After 1945: Gay Rights

Want to Know What Else We Have?

Some relevant subject searches that you can do in the Catalog include:

Gay Liberation Movement

Gay Rights United States

Same-sex Marriage United States

Oral Histories

ACT UP Oral History Project. A collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York.

Lesbian Herstory Archives: Herstories Audio/Visual Collections. "Digitized copies of some of the 3,000 oral history cassettes in the Archives' Spoken Word Collection and 950 videotapes in the Video Collection."

LGBTQ History Digital Collaboratory: Oral History Hub. Portal to LBGTQ oral history projects.

Videos

Dyketactics and Other Films from the 1970s. Barbara Hammer. New York, 2007. Available?

Videos on Women's and Gender Studies: Lesbians and Gays. Videos and DVDs in the Rutgers Libraries collections.

Reference Sources

LGBT: Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America
New York, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004. 3 vols.
More than 500 scholarly entries on LGBT identities, communities, cultures, movements, and issues. Rutgers-restricted Access

Gay Rights Movement

The Gay Rights Movement:1951-1975: Mattachine Society of New York, Inc.
Woodbridge, Conn., Research Publications, 1998.
24 microfilm reels; archives of the Mattachine Society of New York. Index to the microfilm collection
Alexander Call Number: M-FILM 2789
The Gay Rights Movement [1970-1983]: Gay Activists Alliance: From the International Gay Information Center, the New York Public Library.
Woodbridge, Conn., Research Publications, 1998. 21 microfilm reels. Available?
Witness to Revolution: The Advocate Reports on Gay and Lesbian Politics, 1967-1999.
Chris Bull, editor. Los Angeles, Calif., Alyson Books, 1999. Available?
Making History: The Struggle for Gay and Lesbian Equal Rights, 1945-1990: An Oral History
Eric Marcus. New York, N.Y., HarperCollins, 1992. Available?

Stonewall

Stonewall Uprising [DVD]. 2010.
"Explores the dramatic event that launched a worldwide rights movement. When police raided a Mafia-run gay bar in Greenwich Village, the Stonewall Inn on June 28, 1969, gay men and women did something they had not done before: they fought back. As the streets of New York erupted into violent protests and street demonstrations, the collective anger announced that the gay rights movement had arrived." Available?
"Homo Nest Raided, Queen Bees Are Stinging Mad,"
New York Daily News July 6, 1969

To find other materials on the Stonewall riots, seach the Library Catalog with the subject words

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.