Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rutgers-Newark Physics Research Guide: Indexes & Databases

This research guide was created (in the Summer of 2017) to help students performing research in the Physics department at Rutgers University-Newark

INSPEC

INSPEC provides access to the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers & computing, and information technology. In addition, there is significant coverage in materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and biophysics. This database contains over eight million bibliographic records taken from 3,500 scientific and technical journals and 1,500 conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports and dissertations.  Note that it is possible to search INSPEC, Compendex, and NTIS simultaneously.  Coverage dates: 1969-present

MathSciNet

MathSciNet is considered the most comprehensive resource for the international literature of mathematics and statistics. It includes bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database. MathSciNet also provides active links from reviews to the full text of more than 119,000 online articles in over 190 journals, but access to full articles is dependent on a Rutgers University Libraries subscription to that journal or online service. Users can track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences using the "Collaboration Distance" feature, which finds the shortest distance between two mathematicians based co-authorship.

Web of Science

Web of Science indexes leading scholarly journals, books, proceedings, and other formats. The heart of the platform is the Web of Science Core Collection, which indexes over 20,000 scholarly journals and includes over 1 billion cited references. The Collection includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, among others, with coverage strongest in the sciences. This index can be used to demonstrate the impact of particular articles and authors.  Coverage dates: 1900-present

Scopus

Scopus offers coverage in the physical sciences (7,200+ titles), health sciences (6,800+ titles), life sciences (4,300+ titles), plus social sciences and humanities (5,300+ titles). It is a citation and abstract database with over 50 million records. Patents from 5 offices are included. Can be used to demonstrate the impact of particular articles and authors.  Coverage dates: 1996-present

CAS SciFinder-n

NOTE: In order to use CAS SciFinder-n, you must first *REGISTER* (click on the 'registering' link under the Connection note on https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/databases/cas-scifinder-n.)

CAS SciFinder-n is the electronic counterpart and continuation of the print publication Chemical AbstractsIt indexes chemistry literature worldwide, including journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, technical reports, government documents, and more. It is considered a comprehensive resource for chemical substance and reaction information, covering chemical structures, reactions, chemical suppliers, biosequences, and experimental and predictive retrosynthetic analyses for known and novel substances. It is possible to search by research topic, author name, DOI, patent number, chemical name, chemical structure, chemical reaction, and more. New features to aid your research include sorting by relevance, multi-tab browsing, citation mapping, and touchscreen-enabled structure drawing.  Coverage dates: 1907-present

Additional notes: SciFinder Web will be retired June 30, 2022. The client version of SciFinder was discontinued on June 30, 2011.

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.