Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Library Resources for Teaching Online: Videos

This guide contains library resources for teaching online classes.

Where can I find videos for my course?

Incorporating videos into your teaching provides many educational benefits. Many instructors have shared videos on YouTube with their students.  However, do you know that the digital/streaming media collections at Rutgers Libraries are available for Rutgers faculty and students?  Many of the film/documentary titles in our collection are not available on YouTube, and yet can easily be integrated into learning management systems such as Blackboard, Canvas, Moodle or Sakai.  To find out more about our streaming Media collection, check out this guide on Rutgers Streaming Media collection.

Some popular streaming/digital media collections include Academic Video Online (AVON), Swank Digital Campus, Kanopy, and Symptom Media.  To access the films available in Kanopy, please contact a subject reference librarian in your area.

Academic Video Online (AVON) covers more than 50,000 video titles on issues worldwide spanning subject areas including Anthropology, Art & Design, Business, Criminal Justice, Gender & Sexuality, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, and Sciences. 

Swank Digital Campus provides online streaming access to feature films for instructional use, while Kanopy provides films from hundreds of content providers, including New Day Films, PBS, the Criterion Channel, Kino Lorber, and Documentary Educational Resources.  Only instructors can request to have titles added to Swank. See the Online Video guide for more information.

The Libraries also subscribe to Symptom Media, an online mental health education and training film library that contains over 300 mental health simulations including DSM 5 and ICD guided films and assessment tools.

swank screen capture

Swank Digital Campus

Swank Digital Campus provides digital access to course-assigned feature films and documentaries outside of the classroom.

Kanopy screen capture

Kanopy

Kanopy provides access to a broad selection of streaming video titles including documentaries, independent and foreign films, classics, and feature films. Contact a subject librarian if you want your students to access the films available on Kanopy.  Certain restrictions now apply to the on-demand use of Kanopy.  

AVON screen capture

Academic Video Online (AVON)

Academic Video Online (AVON) provides access to 50,000 video titles on issues worldwide spanning subject areas including Anthropology, Art & Design, Business, Criminal Justice, Diversity Studies, Education, Gender & Sexuality, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling and Sciences.

Symptom media screen capture

Symptom Media

Symptom Media is an online mental health education and training film library that contains over 300 mental health simulations including DSM 5 and ICD guided films and assessment tools. 

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.